It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

2a

It’s Monday! is a weekly meme hosted over at Book Journey that allows bloggers to post a sort of wrap-up of the past week while also looking to the week ahead. Without further ado…

Last Week:It took all week, but Katie and I finally wrapped up our Canterbury Tales reading challenge! I came out the victor, bringing home bragging rights and a delicious Big Mac as my prize. When I wasn’t reading Canterbury Tales, I wanted much lighter fare, so I chose to read a lot of KidLit this week. Which meant I didn’t get around to reading anything that I said I was going to in last week’s post. Here’s the complete list.

Twisted Fairy Tales

A Corner of the Universe – Ann M. Martin

Twisted Fairy Tales – Maura McHugh

Canterbury Tales – Geoffrey Chaucer

Nurse Matilda: The Collected Tales – Christianna Brand

Because of Winn-Dixie – Kate DiCamillo

The Hidden Child

Currently Reading:The Hidden Child – Camilla Lackberg

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry: A Novel

Looking Ahead:Hopefully I will get to tackle all the adult stuff I said I was going to read last week. Plus, my coworker Lindsey just alerted me to the new e-novella that wraps up the story of Willem and Allyson in the Just One Day series. So I definitely want to read that as well. Here’s what I’m looking forward to.

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry – Gabrielle Zevin

The Bookman’s Tale: A Novel of Obsession – Charles Lovett

Complicit – Stephanie Kuehn

The House of Velvet and Glass – Katherine Howe

 

I’m hoping that my reading speed will pick back up now that I don’t have to worry about Canterbury Tales. If so, this should be a better week than last week. I’ve heard such great stuff about so many of the books on my TBR pile for the week! So I’m really excited! What are you reading?

3 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! What are You Reading?

3 responses to “It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

  1. I tend to pair lighter stuff with classics too. What did you think of The Canterbury Tales?!?

    Like

    • I really enjoyed a lot of the stories. They were super funny and I kept summarizing them for my best friend (I’m sure she really appreciated that!). But I couldn’t get past the Middle English. It was hard to understand, so I read a Cliffs Note summary before each tale, which really helped. I think I would have enjoyed the process much better if we had used a different…is translation the right word?

      Like

  2. A BigMac as your prize, yum lol. Have fun with the adult reads.

    Like

Leave a Reply

