Review – Sinner

Sinner (The Wolves of Mercy Falls, #3.5)

Sinner

Maggie Stiefvater

2014 – YA – Urban Fantasy

Rating: 4/5

The Story: If you’ve read Stiefvater’s The Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy, you will remember Cole St. Clair, a side player in the story of Grace and Sam. Well, Cole is back and headed to Los Angeles. Why L.A.? Two reasons. First, he has signed a deal with Baby North that will let him record an album while participating in a web show produced by her. And second, Isabel. Along the way, he hopes to find the true Cole St. Clair while releasing himself from some of the guilt he carries inside.

The Opening Line: I am a werewolf in L.A.

What I Loved: Stiefvater is one of my favorite authors ever, and her talent shines through in every single book that she writes. Sinner is a perfect example of this for several reasons. I laughed out loud a lot. I shared sentences from the book with my roommate. Cole’s restlessness was captured so perfectly that I felt restless and chaotic while reading. Isabel’s icy facade that hides her vulnerability made me flinch and evoked sympathy in me at the same time. Short cameos from Sam and Grace made this companion novel a great addition to the series. And the ending, while not as tidy and wrapped up as I usually prefer, really completed the book in a great way.

What I Didn’t Love: I got really, really frustrated with both Cole and Isabel multiple times throughout the book. I could see the obvious solution (or at least a smarter action) for a situation, but the characters never took that route. This was probably contrived, to help bring out each character’s flaws, but I got impatient with them. Like I would do in real life if I had friends like Cole and Isabel.

Final Thoughts: If you’ve never read The Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy, but you keep seeing Sinner around, it’s okay to read it as a stand alone novel. The trilogy provides some helpful back story for most of the characters, but I think Cole’s story can stand on its own merits, if you have no desire to read the trilogy. Although I would highly recommend the trilogy as well, which has such a unique hook on the werewolf plot. The characters are well-written and the plot mostly believable. This is a great companion novel, and I recommend it for fans of werewolf stories, urban fantasy, or Maggie Stiefvater in general.

6 Comments

Filed under Reviews

6 responses to “Review – Sinner

  1. I adored The Scorpio Race and am enjoyed The Dream Thieves series but I’m not sure I’ll read everything else of Maggie’s. I hate frustrating characters, especially those who unbelievably miss the obvious solution, so I don’t know that this would be for me.

    Like

    • Maybe I’m just very solution-oriented. I want to say to characters, “Hey, have you tried this? Seems like a better idea than what you’re doing now. Or maybe just be straight up with (insert other character here).” I wouldn’t call it a huge detractor from the story, but if you are solution-oriented, you might find yourself frustrated.

      Like

  2. Hi I came across your blog and I love it! I’ve been trying to find book bloggers like myself, and it would be greatly appreciated if you check out mine (: Thanks!

    Like

    • I like yours as well! From your recent posts, it looks like we read a LOT of the same types of things. I think this could be the start of a great friendship! Do you have a “follow by email” thing on your blog that I am just missing somewhere?

      Like

      • Thanks! I can’t wait to have book blogger friends xD I just started my blog not to long ago, so I will have to add “follow by email” to my blog once I figure out how to set everything up better. (:

        Like

  3. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee Reads

Leave a Reply

