It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

2a

It’s Monday! is a weekly meme hosted over at Book Journey that allows bloggers to post a sort of wrap-up of the past week while also looking to the week ahead. Without further ado…

Last Week: I didn’t read as much as I usually do. I live with my two best friends, and I recently realized that I’ve been reading so much lately that I haven’t really invested in my friendships with them. I guess when you live with someone, you start to take for granted that they are always there. So last week, I made conscious efforts to hang out with them. I spent the week watching their favorite shows, like Big Brother and Fairy Tale. I also was able to grab a couple naps over the weekend, which was fantastic! It made me think about how in the future I want to spend more time investing in the people I love, and not necessarily so much being off in my own world. Bookwise, I talked characters and character traits last week and read four books. I also reached the first checkpoint for the East of Eden read-along. Here’s the list!

Sinner (The Wolves of Mercy Falls, #3.5)

The House of Velvet and Glass – Katherine Howe

Sinner – Maggie Stiefvater

The Islands of Chaldea – Diana Wynne Jones and Ursula Jones

The Here and Now – Ann Brashares

Ruin and Rising (The Grisha, #3)

Currently Reading: East of Eden – John Steinbeck, Ruin and Rising (The Grisha #3) – Leigh Bardugo, and Perfectly Good White Boy – Carrie Mesrobian

Looking Ahead: My goals for this week are modest. I want to write up this week’s discussion of East of Eden and reach the checkpoint for next week. I plan to finish the other two novels I am currently reading. I hope to have an author interview with Ursula Jones on the blog later this week. I’m going to consciously spend time with friends – we will be watching a couple films including Party Girl, Bringing Up Baby, and maybe An American in Paris. And of course, I will be reading a couple other things as well.

Four: A Divergent Collection – Veronica Roth

One Man Guy – Michael Barakiva

How does your week look, friends? How do you balance work, school, friendships, and personal time?

5 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! What are You Reading?

5 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Hey! I have watched Fairy Tale. You’re talking about the anime, right? How did you like it? Naps are ‘always’ fantastic. 🙂 I can relate to this, not spending time with people when I can/could, doing my own things, not making an investment in a potential close friendship when I could have. It’s great you spent some time with them though.

    How did you like The Here and Now? I’ve heard about the book and it’s on my TBR list.

    The Islands of Chaldea sounds interesting, you rated it well. 🙂 I’ll have to give it a try perhaps. Although I’m not sure how I feel about Diana’s sister finishing the book for her after she died. I’ll have to think about that some.

    Oh wow, the premise for The Bookman’s Tale and The House of Velvet and Glass sounds amazing. Historical, Shakespeare, involves books, mystery, romance, hidden events. I’ll definitely have to add that one to my To Be Read list.

    Oh wow, an interview with Ursula Jones. That sounds exciting. I hope you have a good week with friends and reading as well as blogging.

    My week is kind of busy reading/blogging wise. I need to finish The Book Thief by Markus Zusak by the 31st, I’m then going to begin reading Anna and The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins for the Isla Is Coming read-along.

    I have two or three new features I want to start on my blog. I want to participate in TTT.

    I really hope to finally finish, edit and post my “Love Letters To The Dead” by Ava Dellaira review. I want to review “The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight” by Jennifer E. Smith.

    I want to begin my review on The Book Thief this week, most likely Saturday.

    I may post a discussion and two book hauls or I’ll probably put those off until next week.

    Phew, that really sounds like a lot now that I think about it. I may be a bit too ambitious my second week of book blogging. Just a bit. Haha.

    How do I balance work, school, friendship and personal time? Well, I’m not currently in school or working, that leads to a lot of personal time. As for friendships…I’m not really too social honestly.

    Like

    • You do sound busy! But, it’s great to be ambitious and set goals that are stretching, because they help us learn and grow as readers, writers, and people!

      I am talking about the anime! One of my roomies loves it, so I started watching along, and it’s fantastic. My new goal is to become Erza, because she’s such a kick-butt character!

      The Here and Now was great. I’ll have a review up later this week on the blog, but really, it only takes two words to recommend it – time travel! It’s unique and fun and a fast read, so I would say go for it.

      As far as I understand, after Diana died, the family wanted her book to be published because she had so many fans, but they didn’t want it to be incomplete. So they basically voted Ursula to complete it, as she has writing experience as well. i couldn’t tell where one left off and the other picked up, so that’s a plus.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

      • Haha. A bit too busy. That’s true, nothing wrong with expanding yourself.

        One of my friends had me watching it too. I like it quite a bit, especially Lucy. Ezra is pretty good.

        That’s good to hear. I’ll be sure to read it. Time travel? That sounds interesting. I liked her Sisterhood of The Traveling Pants series and what I’ve read of Sisterhood Everlasting.

        That makes sense, she was pretty popular. It is a plus that you can’t tell the difference between the two, it would be interesting knowing the complete originally visioned ending.

        You’re welcome!

        Like

  2. What did you think of The Here and Now? I thought it was just ok.

    Have a great week and I hope you enjoy Ruin and Rising!

    Like

    • You know, I enjoyed it. I tend to like time travel books. And I thought Prenna and Ethan were a great team. So far, I’m loving Ruin and Rising. My only problem is that when I read a book in a series, I tend to forget prior events.

      Like

Leave a Reply

