Austen in August Intro Post

Main Image

Can it really be August already? Seriously, where has the time gone? It seems like just yesterday that I was scraping ice from my car and complaining about my heating bill!

Anyway, if you were to randomly come up to me and ask how well-read I am, I would probably tell you that I’ve read quite a few of the classics, enough for credibility at least. But when I actually look at Top 100 or Best Of lists, I find that I’ve read a lot less than I thought. So recently, I’ve been looking for ways to incorporate more classics and modern must-reads into my reading life. That’s how the reading challenges with my roommate were born – an attempt for both of us to tackle classics we were scared to read on our own.

When I saw the sign-up post for Austen in August, hosted over at Lost Generation Reader, I was super excited. I know painfully little about any of Jane Austen’s work other than Pride and Prejudice, so this is really the perfect opportunity to jump in and learn more. The premise of the challenge is that during August, you read Austen-related stuff: biographies, modern retellings, commentary, her original works. Then you can post about what you read or tweet using the hashtag #AustenInAugustLGR. You can link up any related posts over on the master post for the event.

This will be my first time participating, so I’m jumping in modestly. I’ve read Pride and Prejudice a couple times, and I read Northanger Abbey back in college, but that’s all I’ve read by Austen. So for this event, I’m going to try to tackle a couple of her books that I haven’t read. I have my sights set on Sense & Sensibility as well as Emma. If I finish those, I may try another of her original books or a modern retelling (or I may just watch Clueless again!). That’s the goal – I’m going to try and read a couple chapters of S & S today, in fact!

For now, I’m going to leave you with a basic intro to Jane Austen. She was born in 1775 to George and Cassandra Leigh Austen. In 1783 she was sent to boarding school for formal education and she began writing in 1787. Sense & Sensibility was Austen’s first published novel. She received one marriage proposal, which she turned down because there was no love between the pair. She died in 1817. In total, Austen wrote 6 published novels, 1 piece of short fiction, 2 unfinished works, and a collection known as Juvenilia. Here’s the list:

Sense & Sensibility

Pride & Prejudice

Mansfield Park

Emma

Northanger Abbey

Persuasion

Lady Susan

The Watson

Sandition

Juvenilia

I’m excited to get started! Tell me, what’s your favorite Austen work?

Sources:

janeausten.org

Wikipedia

9 Comments

Filed under Reading Challenges

9 responses to “Austen in August Intro Post

  1. Welcome aboard the Austen train! So happy to have you with us. My favorite Austen results in a tie between Persuasion and the ever-popular Pride and Prejudice.

    Like

  2. Enjoy! Persuasion is my favorite Austen at the moment, but others have been my favorites for other points in my life (particularly Emma and Pride and Prejudice when I was younger). The title for my blog actually comes from Northanger Abbey (I have a link to the explanation on my “About Me” page), but I was long overdue for a re-read until Katie’s Fellowship of the Worms this past May. Now, my husband is making his way through Jane Austen’s works. He’s read Pride & Prejudice, Sense & Sensibility, and Persuasion so far.

    Like

  3. Brona

    I read all JA’s books years ago, so everything I do this August is a reread. JA is one of those authors who improves with each reread.
    I’m also reading Sense & Sensibility this month, so I’ll look out for you posts to share the experience. I’m using twitter, fb & insta to post favourite quotes & photos etc if you’d like to follow me, I have the icon links on my blog.

    Happy reading 🙂

    Like

  4. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review

    I have to admit that Pride and Prejudice is my favorite for sheer enjoyment, and the pure symmetrical beauty of its construction. I reread Persuasion recently and admired it but I couldn’t love it so wholeheartedly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

