It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

2a

It’s Monday! is a weekly meme hosted over at Book Journey that allows bloggers to post a sort of wrap-up of the past week while also looking to the week ahead. Without further ado…

Last Week: I went to a baseball game! My city has a minor league baseball team, the Lexington Legends, so the company I work for planned an outing to see yesterday evening’s game. It rained a lot Friday and Saturday, but yesterday evening was clear. My roommate Jerelle came as my guest, we had lots of food, and the game was fun, even though we lost. Also, I watched the 1995 adaptation of Sense and Sensibility. I liked it, but I thought a lot got changed or left out. In the reading world, I got through a lot more than expected, although 2 were graphic novels and 1 was a middle-grade book. Here’s the complete list:

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins Lola and the Boy Next Door (Anna and the French Kiss, #2) The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen

Anna and the French Kiss (Anna #1) – Stephanie Perkins

Lola and the Boy Next Door (Anna #2) – Stephanie Perkins

The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern

Star Wars by Jeffrey Brown Page by Paige by Laura Lee Gulledge Landline by Rainbow Rowell The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm

Star Wars Jedi Academy: The Return of the Padawan – Jeffrey Brown

Page by Paige – Laura Lee Gulledge

Landline – Rainbow Rowell

The Fourteen Goldfish – Jennifer L. Holm

East of Eden Emma

Currently Reading: East of Eden – John Steinbeck; Emma – Jane Austen

Looking Ahead: This is the last week of the East of Eden read-along, so I’ll be finishing up this week. Surprisingly, I’m going to miss this book. I’ve loved it more than I could have imagined going in. I also plan to finish up Emma, which I’m starting today for Austen in August. It’s longer than Sense and Sensibility, but hopefully it won’t be too bad. I would also like to read a couple of the following this week:

Conversion Noggin Three (Article 5, #3) Adaptation (Adaptation, #1)

Conversion – Katherine Howe

Noggin – John Corey Whaley

Three (Article 5 #3) – Kristen Simmons

Adaptation – Malinda Lo

Tell me, what are you reading this week?

14 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! What are You Reading?

14 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I love the Emma Thompson version of Sense & Sensibility, but the book is definitely better! Enjoy your reading this week. I’m between books at the moment. I finished “Mexican White Boy” yesterday (young adult novel), and I’ll start a book about engaging with kiddos with math either tonight or tomorrow.

    Like

    • The book is better in terms of details, but I love Austen movie adaptations! I could watch Pride & Prejudice over and over. Did you like Mexican White Boy? I read it for library school a couple years ago, so I don’t really remember a ton about it!

      Like

      • I love Austen movie adaptations too! The only one I’ve seen so far that I didn’t really like that much was the Sally Hawkins version of Persuasion. It was okay, but odd.

        I really liked Mexican White Boy. It’s such an interesting look at biracial identity in America (I discussed it in my post today).

        Like

        • Good post! Unfortunately, it’s sometimes hard for me to relate with books that feature minorities or discuss cultural issues just because I have very little experience outside of the Caucasian experience. But I try to read as many as I can to gain some understanding and be able to promote those books when I can. It’s always interesting to read something like your post and gain an entirely new perspective!

          Like

          • Thanks! It’s great that you promote books that feature diversity. I live in an ethnically diverse community, but I understand that my hometown is quite different from other parts of the US. At a minimum, it’s nice that we’re now able to connect with people from diverse backgrounds through the Internet. 🙂

            Like

  2. Sense and Sensibility is one of my favorite classics. And ooh, Adaptation – I’ve been meaning to read that! Here;s hoping you have a stellar week 🙂

    Like

    • I loved Malinda Lo’s other stuff, so I’m excited about this one, although it looks way different. I have the first two books in the series out, but I hate having to wait on new releases.

      Like

  3. You had a fantastic reading week! What did you think of the new Jedi Academy book? I have a hold on it at the library for my little guy!

    Like

    • I love the Jedi Academy books! I haven’t watched all 6 Star Wars movies yet (I know, I know), but I love these. So fun and with some great lessons for little ones. And of course a great stepping stone for future nerds! 🙂 I hope you all love it!

      Like

  4. I read Anna and The French Kiss last week too! Well, technically I finished it. I started Lola last week though!

    I have never read a Jane Austen book. I feel like such a reading failure. What kind of person that likes to read and has a book blog, hasn’t read Jane Austen? I don’t know, it seems like blasphemy to me. Lol. I did start Sense and Sensibility a long time ago though.

    I’m dying to read Landline. Hopefully I’ll get the chance in a few weeks.

    This week I’m (still) reading Lola and The Boy Next Door. If I manage to finish it, I’ll be continuing This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith.

    Like

    • No worries – I have a roommate that loves to read but hasn’t read Austen either. She loves the Pride and Prejudice movie, though. How are you liking Lola? I didn’t enjoy it as much as Anna. But I’m really looking forward to Isla. Landline is great, I would highly recommend it. Have a great reading week!

      Like

      • That makes me feel better then. 🙂 I do intend on reading her work, I’m just not sure when. Hmm… I have a friend who loves the BBC mini series for Pride and Prejudice, have you seen it?

        It actually took me a little while to get into it, I really like it so far though. Unfortunately I don’t like the counter parallel between St. Claire and Lola, how they both have a significant other, but are then attracted to someone else. It’s kind of a turn off, other than that, I like it. I noticed earlier there’s a bit of Isla’s book at the end so that’s definitely an incentive to finish it soon.

        I’ll definitely read Landline at some point. As soon as I (eventually) purchase it. Thanks, you too!

        Like

        • I LOVE the Pride and Prejudice miniseries. The scene with Mr. Darcy and the lake…well, let’s just say that’s one of my favorites.

          I just got Isla and the Happily Ever After from the library today, so hopefully I can dive in within the next few days.

          And yes, read Landline. So good!

          Like

Leave a Reply

