Review – Inheritance

Inheritance (Adaptation #2)

 Inheritance (Adaptation #2)

 Malinda Lo

 2013 – YA – Science Fiction

 Rating: 5/5

The Story: After returning home from Area 51, Reese and David try to tell the truth about what happened – and their suspicions that the government is involved in a coverup of the June bird attacks. They are repeatedly shut down, and quickly learn not to trust anyone. With offers of help coming in from the Imria, and thinly veiled threats from the goverment, Reese is on her own. Plus, she can’t hide her feelings for David…or Amber.

The Opening Line: The triangular spaceship hovered motionless in the sky above Reese Holloway’s house, as inscrutable as a black hole.

What I Loved: Just like with the first book, this is solid science fiction. Amazing science fiction, actually. With plenty of aliens, government coverups, and conspiracy theories carrying over from the first book, Inheritance even goes a step further. Fleshing out the universe and backstory of the Imria really made them come alive for me. The concept of consciousness sharing was really intriguing. And Reese’s struggles to choose between David and Amber really made me feel for her. I was cringing any of the parties argued or got hurt or did something stupid. I was really invested in this whole story, to the point that I was talking a bit to the characters out loud.

What I Didn’t Love: While the ending wraps up neatly enough, I can’t tell if there will be another book or not. It’s not a cliffhanger, but I want to know more.

Final Thoughts: Malinda Lo tackled a bit of everything with this book. Gay characters, conspiracies, science and technology, aliens, the secret life of the government, and more. It was really intelligent and provided plenty of fodder for my thought. The story was engrossing – I couldn’t put it down. This may be one of my new favorite series, and I’m so upset that this review can’t do it justice.

3 Comments

Filed under Reviews

3 responses to “Review – Inheritance

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee Reads

  2. This one sounds so good! I need to read more science fiction. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

