It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

2a

It’s Monday! is a weekly meme hosted over at Book Journey that allows bloggers to post a sort of wrap-up of the past week while also looking to the week ahead. Without further ado…

Last Week: I predicted on last week’s post that I would have plenty of time to read, as last week was a break week for students. Well, I was dead wrong. I guess I always block out the memory of how bad the week before start week actually is. I spent my entire week making copies, putting up bulletin boards, running reports and lists, preparing for Constitution Day and laptop roll out, fetching books from the bookstore, and making more copies. Not only did I not get to read more than usual, I ended up reading less. On top of that, the whole week was generally stressful and terrible.

There were very few wins last week. I did review everything I read, which doesn’t always happen. And the reading was good, which also doesn’t always happen. Here’s the list:

Dataclysm by Christian Rudder Inheritance by Malinda Lo Wildlife by Fiona Wood

Dataclysm: Who We Are When We Think No One’s Looking – Christian Rudder

Inheritance (Adaptation #2) – Malinda Lo – Duology finished!

Wildlife – Fiona Wood

Prisoner of Night and Fog (Prisoner of Night and Fog, #1)

Currently Reading: Prisoner of Night and Fog (Prisoner of Night and Fog #1) – Anne Blankman

Looking Ahead: I’m looking at another crazy week. Start week responsibilities plus a new serving role at church plus a planned trip to the zoo means I won’t have much free time at all. I’m still plugging away at a couple ARCs that I need to read within the next two weeks or so. And I still haven’t started my R.I.P. IX reading, which I’m super ashamed about. So hopefully I can at least read a little more this week than last.

Thursdays with the Crown (Castle Glower, #3) The Supernatural Enhancements The Haunting of Hill House A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy, #1) My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories

Thursdays with the Crown (Castle Glower #3) – Jessica Day George

The Supernatural Enhancements – Edgar Cantero

The Haunting of Hill House – Shirley Jackson

A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy #1) – Deborah Harkness

My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories – Edited by Stephanie Perkins

If I even get to a fraction of this stuff this week, I’ll be happy. I’m slowly learning to be more content with the flow of my life, even if that means I don’t always get to do all the things I want to do. I’m hoping I get to most of it, because it all looks so good! What are you reading, friends?

 

10 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! What are You Reading?

10 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I enjoyed Prisoner of Night and Fog on audio and look forward to the next one. My high school book club and I will be reading My True Love Gave to Me as our December book. I am not usually a fan of Christmas stories, but I am kind of excited for this one. Have a great week! ~Megan
    http://wp.me/pzUn5-285

    Like

    • I am really loving Prisoner of Night and Fog so far. It’s such a unique perspective, so atmospheric, and with a dash of mystery thrown in.

      I got excited about My True Love Gave to Me in a roundabout way. Last year I read Let it Snow, an anthology of 3 interconnected Christmas novellas by John Green, Lauren Myracle, and Maureen Johnson. So when I found out about My True Love, which features some of my fave authors ever, I couldn’t withstand the temptation. It’s a little early for Christmas reads, but my eARC expires soon, so I’m going for it!

      Like

  2. thelogonauts

    Oooh, I know some of my students would be so jealous that you have Thursdays at the Crown! Just read my first Jessica Day George this past week (Dragon Slippers). Wish I’d found her sooner!

    Like

    • I love Jessica Day George! Everything she does is original and fun and quirky. Dragon Slippers was great, but I think I like the Castle Glower series better. It’s one of my favorite middle grade series ever!

      Like

  3. I really like Jessica Day George, but I haven’t read any of the newest series. I really need to as I am sure it is as good as the rest of her books.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

    Like

    • Yes! I would start with Tuesdays at the Castle. It’s fun, imaginative, and quirky. It’s really well-written, overall great fantasy. I’ve eagerly awaited the subsequent books in the series, and I’m pretty sure I annoyed my roommates by talking about how great it was. I’ve read the first one at least twice!

      Like

  4. I hope this week is better for you! I’ve heard nothing but wonderful things about Dataclysm so I will have to read your review.

    Like

  5. The Supernatural Enhancements caught my eye – looks like a great fantasy read. Most of the titles here are unfamiliar to me, so thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

