It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

2a

It’s Monday! is a weekly meme hosted over at Book Journey that allows bloggers to post a sort of wrap-up of the past week while also looking to the week ahead. Without further ado…

Last Week: I worked a full 12 hours on Monday, so I had the awesome (and rare!) chance to take Friday off completely. I spent the day questing through the lands of Skyrim, catching up on some reading, hanging out with my roommates, and going to a good friend’s surprise birthday party. It was a great day of rest and relaxation after a hard three weeks!

I read very little last week. It was another hard, busy week at work – and lots of serving stuff at my church also. I only finished two books – although one was a chunkster, coming in at 579 pages!

My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

My True Love Gave to Me – Edited by Stephanie Perkins

A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy #1) – Deborah Harkness

Currently Reading: The Haunting of Hill House – Shirley Jackson; Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy #2) – Deborah Harkness

The Haunting of Hill House Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy, #2)

Looking Ahead: More of the same, really. I’m excited to read more stuff for the R.I.P. IX Challenge – plus more spooky stuff that I’m not reading for the challenge! It’s that time of year! I’m leaving for vacation this Friday, so I’m hoping for some great reading time while I’m gone! We’ll see what happens!

The Whispering Skull (Lockwood & Co., #2)

The Whispering Skull (Lockwood & Co. #2) – Jonathan Stroud

Being busy has meant taking stock of my priorities and squeezing in reading time here and there. I’m learning that reading more slowly isn’t always a bad thing – especially if it means more time playing games, hanging with friends, and serving at church. So here’s to not worrying about my TBR so much!

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! What are You Reading?

4 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Everyone seems to be reading Hill House except me! LOL I have heard very little good about A discovery of Witches. Much more bad than good unfortunately…

    Guy Vestal @ Counter Culture Critic

    Like

    • The Estella Society is doing a read-along for it! Luckily it’s short – I finished it today at work! I loved a Discovery of Witches, but I could see how some people wouldn’t. It was very complex. And it fell into a certain niche that you would have to enjoy already.

      Like

  2. I think two books seems good for a week, especially with everything you have going on! Two books a week is what I usually manage to read.

    I hope you are enjoying The Haunting of Hill House. It seems like the perfect fall read!

    Like

    • I actually just finished it! It was a really quick read. I watched the movie a few years ago – much scarier than the book. Then again, I’m a really visual person. Still, sleeping with a light on tonight.

      Like

Leave a Reply

