A Southern Sampler

Hello there! Last Friday I posted that I would be taking a short break from reality in order to go on vacation with my aunt and grandma. This was a huge deal for me because I haven’t taken an actual family vacation since probably 3rd or 4th grade. Plus, we planned this vacation for last year, but my grandma ended up falling twice and fracturing her arm/shoulder, so we had to cancel.

We wanted to try to cram in as much as possible in our short time away, so we chose a sampler sort of vacation. A couple days here, a day there, and so forth. Here are some of my favorite moments from each day/place!

*Here we are, stuck in traffic in Ringgold, GA on Friday night. There was an accident that killed one and critically injured two. Not the greatest way to start our vacation, but we had a ton of time to just spend time with each other, talking and telling stories.

*Because we divided our driving time over two days, we came through Atlanta early Saturday morning. All I know about Atlanta is Turner Field and The Walking Dead.

*We found a hotel close to the beach in Tybee Island, GA early Saturday afternoon. Then we went to the beach. Neither me nor my grandma had ever been to the ocean before, so we had a blast playing in the water and making sandcastles.

*When we went looking for dinner on Saturday night, most of the more touristy places on the island had a fairly long wait. So we went to this place, a smoky local bar with a gravel parking lot and scribblings on the wall. Turns out that local bars have GREAT food!

*Got up early Sunday morning to watch the sunrise over the ocean. Right after, saw this local fisherman catch this shark. That’s something you don’t see every day.

*Sunday lunch buffet at The Lady and Sons, a Savannah restaurant owned by Paula Deen. Even though everyone told us to go to The Wilkes House for the real deal, it had been my dream to come here since I was a kid. And it did not disappoint!

*Climbed all 178 steps to the top of the Tybee Island Lighthouse on Monday morning. Almost lost $40 over the edge when I pulled out the phone to take pictures. Confronted my fear of heights and came down sweaty and shaky.

*After the lighthouse, we explored Fort Pulaski, where the South surrendered to the North after being besieged and pummeled with cannon fire. But when the war wasn’t raging, soldiers held wheelbarrow races and played baseball. Isn’t that cool?

*On the way to Charleston, SC on Monday, stopped for lunch at this place that featured a southern buffet and lakeside dining. Fed ourselves and these guys. Supposedly they had gators also, but I didn’t get to see one up close.

*We started Tuesday morning by surprising my gram with a carriage tour of Charleston. She loved it! Learned all about the history and sights of the city, plus she didn’t have to walk so much. By this point, we had tired her out pretty well. Chose this place because they seem to take really good care of their animals.

*City Market has been around since 1807. After our carriage tour, we spent some time visiting the local artists and vendors that set up shop here every day.

*City Market is also lined on either side by more shops and restaurants. This was our favorite. Had some candy I had never heard of, plus I found some Dr. Pepper licorice for the girls in my Life Group. And my gram bought a gigantic box of Moon Pies.

*We finished our day in Charleston by touring Magnolia Plantation. In the Drayton family since the 1600s, this place has acre upon acre of land, lakes, swamps, and gardens. One of the previous owners was a super eccentric dude – he taught his slaves to read and write when it was illegal, left the estate to his eldest daughter, and acquired a penguin to display after it had died at the zoo.

Now that I’m back in Lexington, everything has caught up with me. I’m pooped! I’ve spent today napping and reading on the couch. I only got a total of 4 chapters read while on vacation, so I’m trying to get back on schedule. πŸ™‚ Tomorrow, it’s back to work and real life – apartment shopping, packing, and moving. Fun, right?

3 Comments

Filed under Jancee's Thoughts

3 responses to “A Southern Sampler

  1. It sounds like you had a great trip. I hope you find some time to rest this week – the transition back to real life is tough!

    Like

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee Reads

Leave a Reply

