It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

2a

It’s Monday! is a weekly meme hosted over at Book Journey that allows bloggers to post a sort of wrap-up of the past week while also looking to the week ahead. Without further ado…

Last Week: My roommates and I are moving to a new, cheaper apartment the first week of November, so we spent a couple of days looking at different complexes. We finally chose a place that we think will be the perfect place for us. It’s much smaller than our place now (seriously, the size of our apartment right now is obscene! We only use half of our living room!), but it is cozy and has a fireplace! We are excited to move, but we feel unsettled right now, and there are a million things to do to get ready. For example, I spent most of the day Saturday boxing up our personal library. I can’t wait for things to settle down.

Most of the time I had for reading last week was in short bursts. So I made the choice to tackle a stack of KidLit I had checked out from the library. Easy and fast to read, plus I got to whittle down my library stack. It was a win-win! Overall, it was a pretty great week for reading. Maybe I was using reading as a way to escape from the stress of my life, maybe I was just in the zone, but I got through a lot! Here’s the list:

The Mystery of the Grinning Gargoyle by Gertrude Chandler Warner The Whispering Skull by Jonathan Stroud In Real Life by Lawrence  Tabak Emperor Pickletine Rides the Bus by Tom Angleberger Flashpoint by Gordon Korman The Graveyard Book Graphic Novel, Volume 2 by P. Craig Russell

The Mystery of the Grinning Gargoyle (The Boxcar Children #137) – created by Gertrude Chandler Warner

The Whispering Skull (Lockwood & Co. #2) – Jonathan Stroud

In Real Life – Lawrence Tabak

Emperor Pickletine Rides the Bus (Origami Yoda #6) – Tom Angleberger

Flashpoint (The 39 Clues: Unstoppable #4) – Gordon Korman

The Graveyard Book Graphic Novel, Volume 2 – Neil Gaiman & P. Craig Russell

Currently Reading: The Book of Life (All Souls Trilogy #3) – Deborah Harkness; Sleepless – Charlie Houston

The Book of Life (All Souls Trilogy, #3) Sleepless

Looking Ahead: Somehow I managed to check out a whole bunch of stuff from the library again, even though I swore I wouldn’t because I want to whittle down my list. So I will be reading from what I have checked out, mostly scary/spooky things to celebrate Halloween. Also, my final book for the R.I.P. IX challenge and a book for the next Fellowship of the Worms discussion. Pretty exciting stuff.

Shadows of the Silver Screen (Twelve Minutes to Midnight, #2) Danse Macabre 'Salem's Lot The Thirteenth Tale

Shadows of the Silver Screen (Twelve Minutes to Midnight #2) – Christopher Edge

Danse Macabre – Stephen King

‘Salem’s Lot – Stephen King

The Thirteenth Tale – Diane Setterfield

Lots of Stephen King coming up! I have heard terrifying things about his work, so I’m excited. Hopefully between work, serving at church, and getting stuff packed up I will have time to just relax this week.

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! What are You Reading?

6 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I LOVED Lockwood and want to get hired as their office manager! Hope the move goes smoothly; never fun, but often necessary! Glad you had a chance to read this past weekend.

    Like

  2. I’m so excited that The Graveyard Book is now in Graphic form! I’ve had a mess of requests to get Emperor Pickletine Rides the Bus in our Library. I will have to get at least one copy.

    Like

    • I love graphic novel adaptations! And The Graveyard Book is a great one. Both volumes are so true to the book and the visuals really just helped me see the story in a whole new way!

      The whole Origami Yoda series is great for reluctant readers, I think. And Star War fans. Really, you can’t go wrong!

      Like

  3. I love The Thirteenth Tale so very much. It is probably one of my favorite books to date!

    I love the idea of reading kid lit when you have a busy week. There are so many children’s books I haven’t read yet!

    Like

    • I’ve owned The Thirteenth Tale for a while now, but I just haven’t gotten to it before now. I’m reading about 4 books at once right now (have no idea how that happened), so I’m not very far through, but I am enjoying it.

      KidLit always takes the edge off a busy week. I usually don’t have to think too hard or do too much work to enjoy the book. I’d like to think I’ve read at least most of the famous books for kids, but I fear I also have a lot of reading to do to catch up.

      Like

Leave a Reply

