It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

2a

It’s Monday! is a weekly meme hosted over at Book Journey that allows bloggers to post a sort of wrap-up of the past week while also looking to the week ahead. Without further ado…

Last Week: My church hosted a trunk or treat on Saturday night, a really safe and fun place for parents to bring their kids and get a ton of candy! Each life group at Quest that chose to host a trunk also chose a theme. Some of the groups went all out, like mine! We actually chose our theme for this year at last year’s trunk or treat, because it was freezing last year. So this year we chose Christmas so we could wear tacky Christmas sweaters and hats and be warm. We also decorated with lights, blasted Mariah Carey, and even featured a couple of those tacky Christmas blow-ups. We were a hit!

It feels like last week stretched out forever. It seems like the books I read just last week are distant memories. I got through 4 books and gave up on one, Stephen King’s Danse Macabre. Not because it was bad. Just because it wasn’t for me and it was dragging me down. Here’s what I did finish its stead:

Shadows of the Silver Screen by Christopher Edge The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness Destiny's Anvil by Steven Wells Hicks The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

Shadows of the Silver Screen (Twelve Minutes to Midnight #2) – Christopher Edge

The Book of Life (All Souls Trilogy #3) – Deborah Harkness – Series finished!

Destiny’s Anvil – Steven Wells Hicks

The Thirteenth Tale – Diane Setterfield

Currently Reading: Sleepless – Charlie Huston; ‘Salem’s Lot – Stephen King

Sleepless 'Salem's Lot

Looking Ahead: My roommates and I are moving next weekend, so I predict a lot of free time this week will go towards packing stuff up and getting everything ready. But I’m going to try to squeeze in just a little more spooky reading before Halloween. I’m also going to try to work on my library pile. I made a library trip yesterday and picked out a few things that looked interesting, so we’ll see what I get through.

Horrorstör The Serpent's Curse (The Copernicus Legacy, #2) The Eye of Zoltar (The Chronicles of Kazam, #3)

Most of my stack is KidLit and YA, just what I’ll need to get through a busy, unsettling week. What do you turn to when your life is shaken up?

 

6 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! What are You Reading?

6 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Sleepless looks like a book I’m really going to have to check out. Enjoy your reads this week!
    My It’s Monday! Post
    Kimberly @ Turning the Pages

    Like

    • It’s an interesting premise. It’s been the book I read in bed at night, so maybe it’s not getting the time or attention it deserves, as I usually fall asleep really quickly. I like what I’ve read so far, though.

      Like

  2. I read Horrorstor last week. I hope you have a blast reading it!

    Like

  3. I read Danse Macabre years ago and it was so painful, I think I stopped reading it too. But I really enjoyed Salem’s Lot!

    Like

    • ‘Salem’s Lot is terrifying me right now. But it’s so good. I kind of want to read ALL the Stephen King now, but at the same time, I never want to read Stephen King again. Because I didn’t sleep last night at all.

      I was kind of disappointed that Danse Macabre wasn’t able to keep my attention. I REALLY wanted to like it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

