Nonfiction November – My Year in Nonfiction

nonfiction november 2014

I know I don’t read enough nonfiction throughout the year, so when I saw Katie post about Nonfiction November, I knew I wanted to join up. Now, this is kind of tricky because I just started the David Copperfield reading challenge with my roommate today, plus there’s Thanksgiving, we just moved, lots going on in general. But I’m going to try my best.

For this event, there are multiple ways to participate. This year, Nonfiction November is being co-hosted by Katie (Doing Dewey), Becca (I’m Lost in Books), Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness), and Leslie (Regular Rumination). You can choose to to respond to weekly discussion prompts, plus there is an official read-along of two different books, Stacy Schiff’s Cleopatra and Stacy Horn’s The Restless Sleep. I am going to try to read both books, because they both sound really good.

This week’s discussion prompt asks participants to review their year in nonfiction so far. I’m going to have to scroll through my Goodreads to figure out what I’ve actually read, but I’ll answer theses questions to the best of my ability. Here we go!

What was your favorite nonfiction read of the year?

I read a lot of children’s nonfiction this year for the YALSA challenge, and most of that was just meh. Of the adult stuff I read, I loved Piper Kerman’s Orange is the New Black, Tina Fey’s Bossypants, and Lucy Knisley’s An Age of License.

What nonfiction book have you recommended the most?

Probably An Age of License. Lucy Knisley is one of my favorite graphic novelists because she always has wry, spot-on observations about young adulthood and what it means to grow up. She’s around my age, and I found myself reading bits and pieces out loud to my roommates because her thoughts just resonate so well with what I’m going through.

What is one topic or type of nonfiction you havenโ€™t read enough of yet?

It looks like I tend mostly toward memoirs and narrative nonfiction, so I would say I don’t read enough history or pyschology/sociology and that sort of thing.

What are you hoping to get out of participating in Nonfiction November?

As always when I do a reading challenge, I want to broaden my horizons. Read books I wasn’t aware of before or that maybe have just been sitting patiently on my TBR that I haven’t gotten to. And just overall, incorporate more nonfiction into my daily reading choices.

Of the 261 books I’ve read this year, just 21 are nonfiction. Of those, 8 are books for kids, 4 are memoirs, 2 are Christian, 2 are nonfiction graphic novels, 1 is history, and the other 4 I’m not sure how to classify. Overall, not a strong showing for nonfiction this year. Here’s hoping Nonfiction November will help me learn to balance my reading!

19 Comments

Filed under Read-Alongs, Reading Challenges

19 responses to “Nonfiction November – My Year in Nonfiction

  1. Oh my gosh–I literally just picked up Age Of License from the library two hours ago!! I loved Relish and am glad to hear you enjoyed her latest!

    Like

    • She is one of my favorites. When I see something new from her, chances are high that I’m going to read and love it. She is one of the people that I just recommend all her books to everyone I know because I relate to what she’s thinking so much! Hope you enjoy it!

      Like

  2. I wasn’t ~officially~ participating in Nonfiction November, but I just finished Bad Feminist and LOVED it, and now I want to finish Tiny Beautiful Things because I’ve heard so much about it. Maybe I will give it a shot after all; we’re only 6 days into November! Happy November!

    Like

  3. I’ve heard so many good things about Knisley’s work. I think I’ll have to pick those up before the next 24 hour readathon. I really like reading graphic novels on those days ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

  4. This is my first time hearing about An Age of License. I will have to check it out!

    Like

  5. I think I read French Milk first, then Relish, then An Age of License. Loved all three. I think she has something else coming out soon, but I can’t remember what.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Nonfiction November Week 1 Wrap Up | TiaMart Blog

  7. Pingback: Nonfiction November Week 1 Wrap Up

  8. I just bought An Age of License because I love the author too. I’m glad you thought this one was good — I’m excited to read it. Thanks for joining us for Nonfiction November!

    Like

  9. Lu

    Isn’t Lucy Knisley lovely? I have read Relish and I just enjoyed it so much. I’m looking forward to reading her other books as well. Thank you for joining us for Nonfiction November!

    Like

  10. I read Orange is the New Black a few years ago and really enjoyed it, I’m happy about the show not because I watch tv, but because it is keeping the book around ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • I’m not sure how I feel about the show. I’ve only watched a couple of episodes. And obviously, you expect the book to be different from the show/movie. But I felt like things were too different, just from what I saw.

      Like

  11. Thanks for joining in! I’d like to do more non-memoir nonfiction reading myself. Memoirs and biographies are just so much fun, I have a hard time passing them up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

