It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

2a

It’s Monday! is a weekly meme hosted over at Book Journey that allows bloggers to post a sort of wrap-up of the past week while also looking to the week ahead. Without further ado…

Last Week: It was Thanksgiving! I went down to my hometown Thursday morning to spend Thanksgiving with my aunt, grandma, and dad. With everyone else in the family celebrating elsewhere, it was a peaceful and non-dramatic day. We had a lot of amazing food, and it was nice to unplug and just hang out with everyone.

There isn’t a ton to do in tiny Russell Springs, Kentucky. I don’t shop on Black Friday and I was without cell phone and Internet access, so I mostly marathoned Hallmark Christmas movies with my gram and read a ton of books. I predicted I would get a lot of reading done this week, and so I did. In fact, I had to do two sets of mini reviews yesterday to cover everything I read over my 3 day break. Here’s the list!

Cleopatra by Stacy Schiff Smoke Gets in Your Eyes by Caitlin Doughty Batman '66, Vol. 1 by Jeff Parker Twisted by Lola Smirnova

The Dead Man's Deal by Jax Daniels You Are Mine by Janeal Falor Noise by Brett Garcia Rose

Cleopatra: A Life – Stacy Schiff

Smoke Gets In Your Eyes & Other Lessons from the Crematory – Caitlin Doughty

Batman ’66 (#1) – Jeff Parker

Twisted – Lola Sminova

The Dead Man’s Deal (The Witherspoon Mansion Adventures #1) – Jax Daniels

You Are Mine (Mine #1) – Janeal Falor

Noise – Brett Garcia Rose

Currently Reading: Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times – Jennifer Worth

Call The Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times

Looking Ahead: I have a couple more ARCs to read and review, along with a straggler or two from the library. After that, I’m really not sure what’s next. Maybe I can start on my Goodreads TBR or read something from my ALA Awards/random book lists binder. It’ll be a nice change of pace!

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold (Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency, #1) The Coming Woman Pathfinder (TodHunter Moon, #1)

2 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! What are You Reading?

2 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I can’t wait to read your reviews for Cleopatra and Smoke Gets In Your Eyes (everyone seems to love this one).

    Like

    • Cleopatra took forever to read, but I learned a ton! And Smoke Gets in Your Eyes is maybe one of my top picks of the year – sooo good. Plus it made me think about what kind of arrangements I want after I die, so that’s something as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

