Review – Pathfinder

Pathfinder by Angie Sage

 Title: Pathfinder (TodHunter Moon #1)

 Author: Angie Sage

 2014 – KidLit – Fantasy

 Rating: 3/5

The Story: Alice TodHunter Moon is finally old enough to take part in the annual Midsummer Circle that is a sacred tradition in her Pathfinder tribe. At the circle, she learns the history and secrets of her people that she swears to protect. Unfortunately, these secrets are overheard by an outsider – one that wants to exploit the people for an evil plan. Tod and her friends, with help from fan favorites Septimus, Jenna, Snorri, and Nicko, must explore the ancient ways and seek mythical legends in order to save the Pathfinders.

The Opening Line: A distant bell tolled.

What I Loved: Cameos from my favorite characters from the Septimus Heap series, of course! It’s always wonderful to revisit characters you thought you’d left behind forever! And while it’s bittersweet to see them all grown up, I’m really glad to get this glimpse of what’s happened since the Septimus Heap series conclusion.

What I Didn’t Love: I had high hopes for this spin-off series. Unfortunately, the magic and wonder I loved from Septimus Heap just wasn’t here in the same ways. I wasn’t as invested in Tod and her friends, so the story fell a little bit flat overall for me.

Final Thoughts: I’m torn on this. It definitely wasn’t the worst book I’ve ever read. But at the same time, I was expecting a lot from Sage’s spin-off series, because I loved Septimus Heap. I’ll probably read the rest of the series, but I’m definitely not as gung-ho about it as I wish I could be.

3 Comments

Filed under Reviews

3 responses to “Review – Pathfinder

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee Reads

  2. I loved Septimus Heap too! The sense of humor in that book was so fun 🙂 It sounds like this series didn’t live up to the original, so I’ll probably pass on it.

    Like

  3. It didn’t unfortunately. The cameos from the previous characters were the best part, but I couldn’t care about the new story. Plus it was weird seeing the old characters all grown up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

