It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

2a

It’s Monday! is a weekly meme hosted over at Book Journey that allows bloggers to post a sort of wrap-up of the past week while also looking to the week ahead. Without further ado…

Last Week: My church has been implementing some cost-cutting measures to get back on track financially, and one of those is to not have a Saturday night service anymore. So we had our last Saturday night service this weekend, which was a pretty bittersweet experience. Also this weekend, my roommates and I celebrated our roomie Christmas with a great meal, presents, and Christmas music! Between the three of us, we opened a good collection of video and board games, books, and fun stocking stuffers. Plus, I got an Ocarina to go with my Master Sword and Shield of Hyrule. I know who I’m dressing up as next Halloween!! 🙂

I said in last week’s post that it would be the week of the graphic novel – and it was.  I only finished three actual novels, but plenty of other things. Because it was such a great week, I’m definitely going to hit my Goodreads goal this week…so I can stop stressing over it, as I wrote about here.

Reviews: The Ghosts of Heaven, Graphic Novels

The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick Goodnight Darth Vader by Jeffrey Brown Santa Clauses by Bob Raczka This One Summer by Mariko Tamaki

Bag of Bones by Stephen King El Deafo by Cece Bell Batman '66, Vol. 2 by Jeff Parker Batgirl, Vol. 1 by Gail Simone

Legends of Zita the Spacegirl by Ben Hatke The Return of Zita the Spacegirl by Ben Hatke Easy by Tammara Webber

Currently Reading: Dream a Little Dream (The Silver Trilogy #1) – Kerstin Gier; Gabi, A Girl in Pieces – Isabel Quintero

Dream a Little Dream (The Silver Trilogy #1) Gabi, a Girl in Pieces

Looking Ahead: I’ll be out of town Thursday – Saturday for Christmas, and Russell Springs doesn’t have a whole lot of things to do. I won’t have Internet, my gaming systems, or even a cell phone signal. So I’m anticipating plenty of reading time. I’m gonna try my hardest to finish up the graphic novels I have out from the library, plus I have a couple ARCs and some great YA on the radar. As of right now, here’s my plan.

Fables: The Deluxe Edition, Vol. 1 Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic The Cure for Dreaming The Settling Earth

I hope you all have a great Christmas and safe travels! Please cherish and savor this sweet time with your loved ones, and spend plenty of time relaxing!

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! What are You Reading?

8 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. craftybooksheeps

    That’s great that you got so much reading done! Always exciting and hope you have another great week of reading! Merry Christmas! 🙂

    Here’s my Monday: http://craftybooksheeps.blogspot.com/2014/12/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_22.html

    Like

  2. Dream a Little Dream seems to be calling to me…enjoy the week, and thanks for sharing.

    Here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    Like

  3. The Cure For Dreaming is waiting for me at home. I LOVE Fables. I just got caught up and am a little sad that there are only going to be two more books. I guess I will just have to go back and reread them! Merry Christmas! ~Megan
    http://wp.me/pzUn5-2dB

    Like

    • I decided to read Fables because I know they are the basis for the video game episodic series The Wolf Among Us. Before I play the game, I want the source material! So glad that you love them – we seem to read and love a lot of the same things, so that gives me confidence that I will enjoy them!

      Like

  4. I’ve heard great things about Fun Home. I hope you loved it and had a wonderful Christmas!

    Like

Leave a Reply

