It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

2a

It’s Monday! is a weekly meme hosted over at Book Journey that allows bloggers to post a sort of wrap-up of the past week while also looking to the week ahead. Without further ado…

Last Week: I celebrated Christmas with my family – only 4 of us this year! Other family members dropped in and out throughout the couple of days I was home, stopping in for a few minutes to eat leftovers or play a quick round of Zombie Dice. Overall, this was a weird Christmas. We all have short tempers, so we tend to spend the holidays arguing. After all, it isn’t Christmas unless someone is crying, right? But this year, no tears, no drama, no arguments. We spent time eating great food, opening great gifts, and playing some really fun board/card/dice games.

In other news, after investing hundreds of hours, plenty of curses, and part of my soul, I finally beat Skyrim! I’m feeling that post-game emptiness as I search for something new to fill the gap. So between Christmas and Skyrim, my reading and reviewing was light this week. That’s okay, right??

Reviews: Gabi, A Girl in Pieces

Gabi, a Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero Fun Home by Alison Bechdel Fables by Bill Willingham

Dream a Little Dream by Kerstin Gier Fables by Bill Willingham

Currently Reading: When – Victoria Laurie; Fables: The Deluxe Edition, Volume 3 – Bill Willingham

When Fables: The Deluxe Edition, Vol. 3

Looking Ahead: Finishing Skyrim + another weird work week + time off for New Year celebrations = plenty of reading time this week…I hope. I always say that, then find that I have plenty of other things to fill my time. However, later this week, another Roomie Reading Challenge begins. This time we are rereading through the Harry Potter series. Yep, all 7. We haven’t set the stakes yet, but it looks like my library stack will have to wait a bit as I race to claim victory yet again!

The Cure for Dreaming The Settling Earth Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1) Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2)

So, tell me. Big plans for ringing in 2015? A small celebration with friends? Or just settling in with a favorite book?

8 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! What are You Reading?

8 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I’m hoping for a quiet week with lots of reading time. I want to whittle down the review stack. My company has gone home after spending five days with me. You can see my week here. Have a great week and happy new year!

    Like

    • I would love plenty of reading time – I just have trouble deciding between gaming and reading most days! Hope you get plenty of quiet time to recharge – I would go nuts if someone stayed with me for 5 days.

      Like

  2. I had a small celebration for Christmas this year, too. I realize that the smaller and quieter the better, for me. LOL

    Enjoy the upcoming year, and your books look very tempting. I am curious about When.

    Here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    Like

    • I just started reading When. Basically, the main character has always seen numbers on the foreheads of the people around her. She soon realizes they are death dates, and her mother starts charging people to reveal their date. Then the character gets implicated in a murder. It’s pretty good so far.

      Like

  3. Glad to hear you had no arguing at Christmas! Happy New Year!

    Like

  4. We play a lot of games in our family too, like Phase Ten, Bananagrams, Dutch Blitz. What other games do you guys play??

    Have a wonderful and relaxing week!

    Like

    • We played Jenga Boom, Apples to Apples, Uno, and a whole lot of Zombie Dice. I had to take games my family would understand, because we aren’t typically a board game family.

      Now, my roomies and I play a lot of board games – things like Qwirkle, Clue, Gloom, Ticket to Ride, etc. It’s a great way to spend a lazy weekend!

      Like

Leave a Reply

