Recap and Resolutions

So it’s that time of the year where everyone posts about the books they read in 2014 and the resolutions they have for 2015. I’ve loved reading everyone’s posts, so I guess I’ll jump in with my own. But…I’m gonna keep it short and sweet, because the Xbox is calling my name, plus I’m having dinner with my roomie tonight at one of our comfort restaurants – Waffle House!!

Here’s my 2014, in just a few short stats:

Total books read – 308

Total pages read – 83,538

Longest read – Infinite Jest (1,079 pages)

5 star books – 49

Top 4 faves – Smoke Gets in Your Eyes; The Supernatural Enhancements; The Spotted Dog Last Seen; We Were Liars

2015 Resolutions:

1. My Goodreads goal for the year is 270 – 30 less than 2014. That seems like a lot, but I count everything. Novels, picture books, graphic novels, short stories, audiobooks, and more. I have a LOT of reading time, so I’ve given myself a goal that reflects my reading trends and time considerations.

2. Read widely. In 2014, I jumped headfirst into the world of comics, read more nonfiction than any year before, and picked up adult/literary fiction again for the first time in a long time. I want to continue this trend and expand my reading even more.

3. Read award winners. For several years, I’ve kept binders of the finalists and winners for each of the ALA Youth Media Awards. I was trying to work my way through the history of these awards, but somewhere along the way the project just sorta got…abandoned. Time to pick it back up.

4. Read New Adult. A few weeks ago, I mentioned the reading list my coworker Lindsey gave me to get me started in NA. I’ve made progress, but this year, I wanna finish it.

5. Chill out. With lists, challenges, read-alongs, and more to capture my time and attention, I want to remember that reading is fun. That I can give myself grace in not finishing a challenge, not reading off a list, and things like that. Also, I always beat myself up for not having time to browse at the library or a bookstore because of ARCs and challenges and stuff, so I want to feel okay about reading freely this year!

 

What are your goals and resolutions for 2015?

 

13 Comments

Filed under Jancee's Thoughts

13 responses to “Recap and Resolutions

  1. You may be interested in my last post 🙂

    Why do New Year’s resolutions not work?

    at:
    http://my35project.com/2015/01/01/why-new-years-resolutions-do-not-work-but-goals-do/

    Happy new year!
    Alex

    Like

  2. I’ve seen The Supernatural Enhancements on several “great books you may have missed” lists for 2014, so I’m thinking I might have to check that one out! I got into comics this year too and I’m absolutely loving it. Happy new year!

    Like

    • The Supernatural Enhancements may have been my FAVORITE book of the year…and I don’t say that lightly!

      What comics have you read this year? I’m always looking for new ones!

      Like

      • I read and really loved Mrs. Marvel, Lumberjanes and the new Thor comics (falling slightly behind on those though!) I’m reading Saga right now actually after hearing so many great things about it! What about you!

        Like

        • I actually just read volume 1 of Ms. Marvel last night – I think it’s one of my new favorite comics. I also started Fables, and of course I’m keeping up with the New 52 run of Batman!

          I want to read Lumberjanes really soon, plus Saga. And I need to go back and finish up Sandman. As for the “normal” superhero comics, I really never know where to start!!

          Like

  3. You had a fantastic 2014! I haven’t heard of The Spotted Dog Last Seen, so I’m going to have to give that one a look!

    Like

  4. Yay for reading more nonfiction! 🙂 I’d like to read some more award winners too. Although I don’t want award lists to define my reading, I’ve loved all of the pulitzer prize winners I’ve read and I’d like to get to more.

    Like

    • My youth media awards lists have been extremely neglected over the past year, but I want to approach them differently this year. I would like to balance books from lists with things like review copies, random library browsing, and things already on my TBR.

      Ya know, I doubt I’ve ever read a Pulitzer Prize winner. I don’t follow adult book awards too closely. But I do want my reading to be a bit more balanced in terms of age category this year! Another notable goal!

      Like

Leave a Reply

