Review – Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway’s Ghost

Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway's Ghost (Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency, #2)

 Title: Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway’s Ghost (Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency #2)

 Author: Iain Reading

 2013 – KidLit/YA – Mystery/Adventure

 Rating: 4/5

The Story: Before Kitty Hawk sets out on her around-the-world flight in the footsteps of Amelia Earhart, she flies down to Key West and the Dry Tortugas for a bit of vacation. Instead of rest and relaxation though, Kitty finds a near replica of Ernest Hemingway’s boat, the mysterious sounds of typewriter keys clattering in the night, and a midnight operation to recover mysterious artifacts from the seafloor. Could the ghost of Ernest Hemingway be roaming the earth in search of treasure?

The Opening Line: I was literally holding on by my fingertips in a cramped, dark little space surrounded by thick brick walls on all sides.

What I Loved: This series really reminds me of a combination of two great things – the video game series Uncharted and the old Nancy Drew mysteries. I love that first and foremost this series is fun and easy to read. It’s sure to suck in a reader and keep them hooked all the way through, at least it did for me. I also love the short chapter sizes. I can easily breeze through a couple when I have a few minutes and still have a perfect stopping place. And of course, I love the adventure, mystery, and history/science that makes up the content of each novel. I’m fascinated by what I’m learning without even realizing it.

What I Didn’t Love: In this installment, Kitty Hawk is trying to figure out what exactly the mystery group could be diving for on the seafloor each night. After swimming out and observing (stealthily, of course!) one night, she notices that the woman makes rubbings from each artifact and stores the rubbings in a binder. So during the day, Kitty breaks into their boat to take pictures of the binder’s content. She also breaks into Fort Jefferson, a national monument in a national park, one night to overhear one of the accomplices. She never gets caught, but these acts in and of themselves are illegal and dangerous, so that was my main contention with this book.

Final Thoughts: I loved the first Kitty Hawk book and I’m happy to report that this one also lived up to my expectations. It was fun and made me long for warm days by the ocean. It also makes me want to play some Uncharted and do a little virtual treasure hunting for myself. I love archaeology and shipwrecks and history and all that, so this whole series is right up my alley. I’m pretty excited to dive into the next two books as Kitty’s adventures around the world continue. Next stop, Iceland!

1 Comment

Filed under Reviews

One response to “Review – Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway’s Ghost

  1. Pingback: Jancee Reads

Leave a Reply

