Sunday Sagacity #2 – Early Failures

SUNDAY

Welcome to Sunday Sagacity, my weekly reflection series that I created to chronicle my year-long goal to instill discipline in my life in some key areas. Each week, I’ll very briefly touch on each of those areas. I’ll talk about my victories and my failures, and hopefully gain the motivation and accountability I need to carry out my goals.

I’ll just come right out and say it. This week was pretty terrible. It felt like I was struggling to stay afloat all week, and more often than not, I really just felt like things were kind of crumbling down. Suffice to say, discipline was the least of my worries.

Money – I depleted my savings a lot this week. Extra groceries, a couple birthday gifts, the temptation of fast food and the lure of the vending machine right outside the area in which I work. I did add money back in from my paycheck, but I didn’t really make a gain, I just got it back to where it was. On a positive note, I did get my tax refund, and I’m just waiting for my next credit card bill to pay off around 4/5 of it.

Quiet Time – My church has been going through the book of Proverbs, one chapter a day, and I mostly remembered to read every day. As of today, I’m caught up. And I journaled again for the first time in forever. That being said, I haven’t journaled since. And other than reading Proverbs, I haven’t had quiet time at all.

Physical Health – Hahahahaha. I did check out a few yoga DVDs from the library, but I didn’t get the chance to try even one of them out, so they went back untouched. And it’s too cold and drizzly to do anything outside.

Healthy Eating – I feel like we ate out more this week than we should, and I definitely drank more soda than I was intending. I think I had fast food instead of packing a lunch like 3 times, so I definitely need improvement in this area. The roomies and I did cook at home for dinner a lot though, and I found some great new recipes we’re trying over the next two weeks!

Intentional Living – I did go to life group last week and shared with my group my efforts to control my temper and anger. I guess that was pretty intentional. And we had board game night, where we invited friends over to hang out and play. So I guess I did okay at this.

So maybe I didn’t do as terribly as I thought. I’m still making a little bit of progress in these areas, and I’m at least thinking about it more. And I think I’ve planned really well, so that I can take lunches this week, save money, pay down debt. Hopefully next week’s post will be a lot better.

5 Comments

Filed under Sunday Sagacity

5 responses to “Sunday Sagacity #2 – Early Failures

  1. Wow, Jancee! This is awesome! I mean seriously! I love that you are seeing the places you need work in and actually taking action to notice them more and do something about them! What an honorable thing! I definitely need to do more of that too!!! Chris and I started the year out well with all these great intentions for running and losing weight, but it has just been so cold, we kinda stopped and are at a stand still. I am thinking about doing my Jillian Michaels DVD again. My motivation is lacking. I guess a good thing to remember about this is that we are human. Yes, strive to always improve (one can never stop improving), but don’t beat yourself down when something doesn’t go right. I am working on that part a lot. Remember, God started a good work in you, and He’s going to be faithful to complete it! We have to hold on to these truths or we will sink! But I am proud of you for doing this. It is definitely and encouragement to me! Thanks a lot!

    Like

    • Thanks, Michelle. I just felt like I was floundering and that nothing was going to change unless I changed it, so I did some self reflection and figured out the areas I hated the most. Hopefully this will help.

      Good luck to you and Chris in getting motivated!

      Like

  2. Hey, I love this idea for a blog. Discipline is hard, so here’s some encouragement: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eaIvk1cSyG8 (not spam). 🙂 I can’t wait until I can come and do some more yoga with you guys. ❤

    Like

  3. Pingback: Jancee Reads

Leave a Reply

