Preview – Dream A Little Dream

Dream a Little Dream (The Silver Trilogy #1)

 Title: Dream a Little Dream (The Silver Trilogy #1)

 Author: Kerstin Gier

 YA – Fantasy

 Release Date: April 14, 2015

 Source: NetGalley

You should know by now that I like books full of puzzles and mysteries to solve. I love liberal amounts of humor and snark. My favorite types of characters are strong and independent and intelligent. And if a book features a school setting (especially a boarding school, but we can’t always get what we want, right?) or a touch of the creepy supernatural (think midnight rituals), that’s just icing on the cake.

Dream a Little Dream is immediately intriguing and inviting. Just look at that cover! Bright colors, a mysterious door, touches of whimsy, and a darkening sky. It’s just a cover that I couldn’t resist, and that was all it took to goad me into reading this novel that I knew nothing about otherwise.

It’s the first in a trilogy. Originally published in Germany, the series is being translated and published for the delight of those who are limited to the English language (like me!!!). The star of the series is Liv. Her parents are divorced, and she and her sister Mia shuttle back and forth between them as kids of divorce often do. It would be easier, though, if her parents would stay put instead of moving so often. For now, however, her mother seems to have settled in England, and the girls join her there. Immediately, they meet her mother’s new beau and his teen children, Florence and Grayson. Immediately, Liv begins having strange dreams that prominently feature doorways into the dreams of others. Immediately, she is sucked into a strange ritual to wake a demon and end an obligation. Interested yet?

You should be. The novel is fun and creepy and humorous and whimsical throughout. There are touches of romance, a school blog authored by an unknown someone simply known as Secrecy, midnight rituals in a famous London cemetery, and an elite school dance. There are literature references peppered throughout, which I loved. Maybe this isn’t the best way to describe this series, but think The Raven Boys + Nancy Drew + anything by Jasper Fforde and you sorta kinda understand that this book is just quirky and charming and fun and occasionally a little bit spooky.

The only issue I had with the novel was that Liv sometimes seemed a little slow on the uptake, even though she is intelligent and good at solving puzzles. But at the same time, I was willing to deal with that because I’m not sure I would have believed in what was happening either, had I been in her place. Other than that, I’m only upset that I have to wait for the next two books in the trilogy. I want them right now!!!! But I guess I’ll wait and build up delicious anticipation – and the upside of waiting so long for the others will be rereading this beauty! Seriously, this is one you want on your radar!

1 Comment

Filed under Reviews

One response to “Preview – Dream A Little Dream

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee Reads

Leave a Reply

