Sunday Sagacity – Setbacks

SUNDAY

Welcome to Sunday Sagacity, my twice-monthly reflection series that I created to chronicle my year-long goal to instill discipline in my life in some key areas. Each week, I’ll very briefly touch on each of those areas. I’ll talk about my victories and my failures, and hopefully gain the motivation and accountability I need to carry out my goals.

The past couple of weeks have been extremely busy, and I am still struggling to adjust to a new schedule, increased workload, and longer hours. I’m doing all right, but I’m definitely not at my best physically or in my decision-making. Mostly I’m just tired. My whole life feels like work, eat, and sleep right now, so I’ve felt very antisocial and not very fun.

So…updates.

Money – My savings account is still growing, slowly but steadily. My mindset is changing to help me ignore that money as if it isn’t even there to be spent. I’ve cut down greatly on vending machine purchases (except for some soda this week, we’ll blame the busyness). Although we’ve eaten out more than I would like recently, it isn’t using money that I’ve set aside to save, so I guess I’m still okay? Also, I bought a car, so in the future I’ll have to be careful and consider a car payment as well as other expenses.

Quiet Time – I haven’t had quiet time recently at all. I’ve been carrying my journal with me in my backpack, but I haven’t found the time or motivation to pull it out. So this really sucks.

Physical Health – It’s been an incredibly busy time at work, so I’ve been up and about more than usual. I rearranged the bookstore, unpacked books and kits, and prepared for the beginning of the quarter. Not your traditional workout, to be sure, but at least I’m moving. Hopefully when my schedule settles down some, the roommates and I can start going to the park for walks and some basketball.

Healthy Eating – We’ve eaten out way more than I wanted. Our deep freeze went out last weekend, so we ate out a couple times then…because gross. And I ate out at work a couple times too because busy and I wanted something more substantial than a cup of mashed potatoes or a single sandwich. I’m hoping to get back on track this go around.

Intentional Living – My days have been crazy and I have interacted with so many people and exerted myself to exhaustion so much that when I get home, I’ve been kind of shutting down and retreating into myself. We did have Jerelle’s sister and her husband over for a movie night, but mostly I’ve been vegging on the couch. I’ve missed life group a few times as well, but I’m going to try to make it tonight.

Man, I’m tired. How bout you? If I can make it through this week, I think things will slow down a bit, so I’m hoping for rest and relaxation. And for a better report next time!

3 Comments

Filed under Sunday Sagacity

3 responses to “Sunday Sagacity – Setbacks

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee Reads

  2. This is a great idea. It’s hard to keep track of your goals when life is crazy and exhausting. Hang in there!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

