Roomie Reading Challenge – Middlesex

Middlesex

Well, better late than never! It’s time for another Roomie Reading Challenge! Originally, Katie and I planned to read Dante’s The Divine Comedy. Turns out, we couldn’t procure two copies of the same edition (or even two copies at all, really), so we decided to take a look at the Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge list and choose something from it.

Neither of us has read anything by Jeffrey Eugenides, although I’ve heard great things about all of his work. We’re both going into this challenge pretty blind – other than knowing that Middlesex is kind of a big deal, we don’t know anything about the book plotwise. So it should be interesting, definitely.

I’m pretty excited, though. We’re starting tonight and using the weekend for momentum. Theoretically I would love for this to be a weekend challenge and have it over and done by Monday, especially since we don’t have anything planned this weekend, other than the UK Wildcats game (go Cats!). Regardless, this seems like a great weekend for a challenge!

We haven’t discussed stakes yet. I’m thinking that maybe I’ll ask for a copy of the Anime and Game Collection by Taylor Davis. I’ve become obsessed with her violin covers of my favorite anime and video game themes, and they really help me focus. Or maybe a nice meal out or a gym card for the fitness center in our apartment complex. Maybe I’m getting ahead of myself, but the odds are in my favor.

Friends, have you read Middlesex? Think I’ll enjoy it??

5 Comments

Filed under Roomie Reading Challenges

5 responses to “Roomie Reading Challenge – Middlesex

  1. This is one of my favorite books!

    Like

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee Reads

  3. Good luck! I haven’t read this book yet, so I look forward to your review.

    Like

Leave a Reply

