Review – Nemo’s World

Nemo's World: The Substrate Wars 2

 Title: Nemo’s World (The Substrate Wars #2)

 Author: Jeb Kinnison

 2015 – Fiction – Science Fiction

 Rating: 3.5/5

The Story: After fleeing to New Earth and setting up a rudimentary society comprised of the rebels and some of the world’s smartest minds in quantum physics and computing, Justin and his friends began to build a new system of rule that will benefit humanity. Their main focus is on opening up new planets as colony planets for anyone who wants to explore and settle new worlds. However, Dylan, with the full backing of the US government, continues to stand as a major obstacle, with the goal of wiping out his former friends in order to gain power.

The Opening Line: Amanda Sundaram-Smythe’s body clock was still off, so she woke early enough to see two small crescent moons rising in the eastern sky before dawn.

What I Loved: The implications and unlimited possibilities of the gateway technology and replicators are very cool. Instant access to new planets, the ability to end hunger and poverty, the freedom of people to create art and engage in higher thought, the idea of open communities that people can travel between with few restrictions. If this were ever to happen in my lifetime, I hope I would be brave enough to be  a part of it. I also loved Dylan as a villain. He’s very smart, very focused, and has an uncanny ability to get what he wants. The political commentary and maneuvering was also very good, and I loved that it was a bigger part of this second novel.

What I Didn’t Love: Occasionally, conversations between characters read like an agenda, checking off one item after another and transitioning very quickly, sometimes in the middle of a thought. So at times I wish the conversations felt a little more organic. This wasn’t a huge deal though, and I’ve had those kinds of conversations myself. And continuing from the first book, I’m beginning to be able to follow along with all the tech speak, but at times, I still just didn’t understand. Which is why I’m not a scientist, obviously.

Final Thoughts: Thank you to the author for sending this along for review! It’s very much so science fiction, which I don’t read a ton of normally, but I’m definitely enjoying this series. It’s fun, the technology is awesome, and I would definitely want to go explore new planets. Here’s hoping I really don’t get caught up in anything this big in my lifetime, though – I would for sure crack under all the pressure.

1 Comment

Filed under Reviews

One response to “Review – Nemo’s World

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee Reads

Leave a Reply

