Sunday Sagacity – Finding a Rhythm

SUNDAY

Welcome to Sunday Sagacity, my twice-monthly reflection series that I created to chronicle my year-long goal to instill discipline in my life in some key areas. Each week, I’ll very briefly touch on each of those areas. I’ll talk about my victories and my failures, and hopefully gain the motivation and accountability I need to carry out my goals.

Spring is finally here, days are longer, and I’m slowly getting used to a new schedule and more free time in the evenings. Overall, the past couple weeks have been fantastic. We’ve tried out new recipes, had dinner with a friend, spent time outdoors. I’m a little tired today, and I’m dealing with some allergies, but hopefully that’s nothing a nap won’t fix.

On to the updates!

Money – I’m really finding a rhythm in putting money in my savings account before I do anything else. I’m growing my savings steadily, which in turn is increasing my confidence and feeling of security. My goal is to build up about 3 months (and eventually beyond) worth of living expenses, so I’ll have something to fall back on should I need it. I’ve also decreased spending on things like fast food, vending machines, and other little things that I don’t really need.

Quiet Time – A couple weeks ago, my life group watched a video by Pastor Bill Hybels about the importance of prioritizing time with Jesus. That coincided with a spurt of warmer weather, so I started having quiet time out on the balcony of my apartment with my Bible and journal. I’ve found that a really great thing to end my journal entries is to record 5 things I’m grateful for each day, which really helps me identify unique, great things about the day. Now that it’s cold again, I’ve slacked off here, but I want to make this a habit.

Physical Health – To me, warm weather means basketball! As soon as the days get longer and the temperatures rise, my roommates and I start making plans to spend our free time in the park. We live right next door to a great park with a walking track, basketball hoops, tennis and volleyball courts, playgrounds, baseball fields, and more. So it’s easy to go spend 30 minutes or an hour shooting hoops or taking a walk. This is one of my favorite things to do in the world, and I’m glad it’s that time of year!

Healthy Eating – We’re eating out less, cooking more, and experimenting with new recipes. We eat out about once a week, unless we ruin a dinner or something, but that’s way less than we used to. Also, I’ve gotten way better about planning out lunches for work, so I don’t find myself eating out regularly there either. I’m trying to drink less soda as well. This will continue to be a work in progress.

Intentional Living – The roommates and I were invited to my coworker’s house yesterday for dinner, billiards, and board games. It was a super fun and relaxing evening, and I’m looking forward to more of these evenings in the future. On Monday, I went out for lunch with a new coworker this week to a local eatery that’s been around more or less since the 50s. I’ve also been making myself go to life group regularly. I’m learning that community and relationships are really important, so I’ve been making an effort to grow in this area. I still hate being in larger groups, but I love 1-on-1 friendships and small groups.

Anyway, I’m pretty exhausted, so I’m thinking a nap looks pretty right about now. Here’s to the next 2 weeks of progress!

3 Comments

Filed under Sunday Sagacity

3 responses to “Sunday Sagacity – Finding a Rhythm

  1. You’re so inspiring. Keep on swimming!

    Like

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee Reads

Leave a Reply

