Review – Trigger Warning

Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances

 Title – Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances

 Author – Neil Gaiman

 2015 – Short Stories

 Rating: 4/5

The Opening Line: Today I intended to begin to write.

The Story: This is actually a collection of short stories, poems, and other tidbits gathered from various collections and anthologies into one Gaiman collection.

What I Loved: Back when I read Ocean at the End of the Lane, I was struck by the beauty of Gaiman’s writing. His words and sentences were written well – what I read flowed fluidly off my tongue and transported me to a magical, mystical land of fantasy and adventure and wonder. His writing has a lyrical, musical flow and is breathtaking. I am beyond pleased to report that every single work in this collection is just as high-quality and beautiful. I also really like what Gaiman stated in his introduction – that he thinks all short story collections should have a theme and stick to one genre or style, but that this collection unapologetically breaks all those rules. The book really does have a little bit of everything – a set of stories based on answers to Twitter questions he posed, a Doctor Who tale, an original short story set in the world of American Gods. Each story was something new and different and wonderful.

What I Didn’t Love: As with any short story collection, there were pieces that I didn’t enjoy as much as others. His American Gods short story fell flat for me, possibly because I’ve never read the novel and have no context for a piece set in that universe. And I’m still not great with poetry, although I try, so it was hard to get into some of those.

Final Thoughts: Have I ever read anything by Gaiman that I haven’t loved? I’ve read his books for kids, I raved over Ocean, and heck, in the spirit of National Library Week, I’ve even been reading and rereading a quote attributed to him about how librarians would probably love to be appreciated in the form of chocolates or tea or reliable funding. The man just has a way with words, and is quite possibly one of my favorite authors.

8 Comments

Filed under Reviews

8 responses to “Review – Trigger Warning

  1. The Ocean at the End of the Lane was the first time I ever read anything by Neil Gaiman and while I thought it was just okay, there was enough there for me to want to explore his work some more. I like the sound of this collection because it sounds so eclectic and like the author’s trying to do something different for his fans. What’s another favourite Gaiman book for you?

    Like

    • I really like his stuff for kids. Fortunately, the Milk absolutely captivated me, and I also really liked Coraline and The Graveyard book. For adults, I haven’t read much of his work, but I did start Sandman at one point and was really intrigued. I need to get back to it.

      Like

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee Reads

  3. I really need to read more of his books! I enjoyed American Gods and The Graveyard Book, but I didn’t love them and I feel like I really could love his work in other genres.

    Like

    • Have you read Ocean at the End of the Lane? It was also wonderful and magical and my gateway into loving his books! I also really enjoyed Fortunately, the Milk because I could see myself reading that to my kids someday.

      Like

      • No, but that and Stardust and Neverwhere are all on my to-read list! It sounds awesome, especially since I can’t get enough of magical realism.

        Like

        • I liked Stardust as well, but Ocean really made me appreciate magical realism in a new way. I also annoyed the crap out of my roomie while I was reading, because I would keep interrupting her reading to be all “Listen to this sentence! Isn’t this a beautiful, well-written sentence?”

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

