Review – The Girl on the Train

The Girl on the Train

 Title: The Girl on the Train

 Author: Paula Hawkins

 2015 – Fiction – Mystery/Thriller

 Rating: 4/5

 Source: Library

The Story: Every day Rachel takes the train into London. On her morning commute, the train always stops or slows at a certain point along the track, and she loves to look at the row of houses nestled nearby. She particularly loves to watch the couple she has deemed Jess and Jason – on most mornings, Jess can be found having coffee on the terrace and Jason often pops out for a chat as well. To Rachel’s eyes, their marriage and life together look perfect, everything she doesn’t have. But then Jess (who in actuality is named Megan) goes missing and her husband is the prime suspect.

The Opening Line: She’s buried beneath a silver birch tree, down towards the old train tracks, her grave marked with a cairn.

Thoughts: So, this is it, huh? The next Gone Girl, the bright and shiny novel that captured the world’s attention? I mean, I would have read it anyway, probably, because I really like the mystery/suspense/thriller genre, but I recently read Gone Girl and wanted more. And my library has this thing called “Lucky Day”. It’s a small selection of the latest, greatest, most popular books, the ones with hold lists a mile long. Anyway, a few of these books are set aside and deemed “Lucky Day” books – they are usually set up as a display, there is no line or hold list, and their checkout period is only a week long instead of the typical 2 weeks for new books or 4 for everything else. Anyway, I got lucky and happened to be in the library the other day when The Girl on the Train was available. Because about a million people have told me to read it, I grabbed it then and there.

So, here’s the question. Is it the new Gone Girl? I think not. The books do share similar features – missing wives, suspicious husbands, unreliable narrators, and a lot of lies. But I think this book does a fine job of standing on its own. Hawkins does a great job of weaving 3 stories together into one narrative, with plenty of plot twists and enough vague clues to keep readers guessing. I finished the book in a day. Last night in fact, as we were chowing down on burgers at McDonald’s, I was frantically reading the last few pages, completely ignoring my roommate as I tried to figure out what happened. So whether you have or haven’t read Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train is a worthy read in and of itself.

And yes, I realize I didn’t do a real review – I talked a lot about my library and McDonald’s, right? Intentional. Best you come at this book without knowing too much! 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under Reviews

5 responses to “Review – The Girl on the Train

  1. I’ve never heard of a library doing a “Lucky Day” section — that sounds like such a good idea! I’m part of a small system, so hold lists are never very long, but when I lived in Wisconsin something like that would have been welcomed.

    Like

    • Yes, it’s amazing! Each branch has their own lucky day section. Each time I go in I do a circle around the table to see what goodies are available. It’s a first come, first serve sort of thing so you never know what’ll be there!

      Like

  2. Nicely done with the spoiler free review! I’m glad you enjoyed this even though, as is often the case, the comparison to another book wasn’t so accurate 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks! Yeah, I get the need to say that a certain book is similar to another book to raise interest, but at the same time, I want to read each book based on its own merit, not that it’s exactly like something else.

      Like

  3. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee's Reading Journal

Leave a Reply

