Sunday Sagacity – How is it June Already?

SUNDAY

Welcome to Sunday Sagacity, my twice-monthly reflection series that I created to chronicle my year-long goal to instill discipline in my life in some key areas. Each week, I’ll very briefly touch on each of those areas. I’ll talk about my victories and my failures, and hopefully gain the motivation and accountability I need to carry out my goals.

Got a lot of stuff going on, so I’ll get straight to the updates!

Money – It’s been quite a long stretch of time since Lindsey left and I’ve been without a coworker. Although that meant more hours, it also meant more money! Sadly, though my time is almost up to take advantage of sweet overtime pay, so I’m really trying to prioritize where to throw my money over these next couple of checks. My strategy thus far has been to pay down car loan debt, but I think if I use the rest of my overtime money wisely, I can completely pay off credit card debt! I have also been really great about putting money in my savings account, although I’m not always so great about leaving it there. Sigh. Still a work in progress.

Quiet Time – I have been having quiet time every single day, thank you very much! Due to our roomie health challenge, quiet time is now a staple in our household. Each of us has been setting aside time each day to spend journaling, reading our Bibles, praying, or worshiping with music.

Physical Health – Also thanks to our health challenge, I’ve engaged in some form of physical activity every single day. Whether it’s shooting hoops at the park, heading to the fitness center, or twisting my body into a pretzel doing yoga, I am getting up and moving about more. The greatest days are when my roommate Katie and I have time to play tennis together, something I’m learning that I really enjoy.

Healthy Eating – We finally found a vegetable that all of us love! That dubious honor goes to the humble corn on the cob. Before we discovered this, we were eating a lot of bread and pasta sides because it was too much work to make several separate veggies. Now about twice a week we make some oven-roasted corn with salt, pepper, and butter and we’re all happy! We still have one fast food meal out a weekend, plus I’m eating about one meal out during the week with work friends, so I could do better in that aspect. I have majorly cut down my soda consumption though, due to all the water I’m drinking for our challenge.

Intentional Living – Our friend April came up for a visit on Friday and is actually still here with us. We’ve made cookies, played card games, watched movies, gone to church. She, Jerelle, and Katie are all swimming right now as I enjoy some peace and quiet in the empty apartment. I won’t lie – I really wish I could just spend my weekends decompressing, so it’s always very hard for me to play hostess and entertain guests when I really want to be gaming, but the weekend has been fun regardless.

Well, that’s that.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Sunday Sagacity

One response to “Sunday Sagacity – How is it June Already?

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee's Reading Journal

Leave a Reply

