Read Play Blog – Geek Conventions

Read Play Blog 2

Read Play Blog is a meme about video games and books, posted every 16th of the month. Bloggers are encouraged to answer a discussion question, and recommend a video game that is similar to a book they liked. Hosted by Happy Indulgence Books & Read Me Away.

Geeky Conventions

This month’s topic is geeky conventions. More specifically, what conventions we’ve attended and what conventions we want to attend at some point. Now, I’m very much an introvert, so being in a huge convention hall in a crush of people is not really my thing. I love the theory of conventions much more than the actual experience. Still, there’s something to be said for being among your people, the people who understand you and share your passion for all your favorite fandoms.

I’ve only been to one convention, a local convention here in Lexington, KY. Each year in the spring, the Lexington Comic & Toy Convention takes over Rupp Arena and brings in celebrity guests, local artists and vendors, and more. I went a couple of years ago with my roommates and life group, and it was so much fun! We didn’t go to any of the panels, but we had a blast walking around, looking through all the amazing merch, and admiring all the cosplay.

Now then, conventions I would love to attend. Let’s see. Of course I would love to go to the biggest convention of them all, San Diego Comic Con. I don’t know how long I would last (So. Many. People.), but it would be fun for a while at least.  An anime convention would be fun, although I have limited knowledge of the varying fandoms. On the local level, we have a great annual board game convention, LexiCon, that I can’t wait to attend for the first time. I’ve recently become hooked on board games, and my roommates and I have started going to a weekly game night at a great local game shop, The Rusty Scabbard. And of course, E3, but I’m not sure if that counts as a convention.

Gaming Recommendation

I love a good JRPG. And one of my favorite JRPGs is a great team-up by Level 5 and Studio Ghibli. Cute, charming, and completely adorable, Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch messed with all my emotions. It’s the story of Oliver, a young child who loses his mother and then is shocked to find out that his stuffed animal is actually a fairy lord from a parallel universe. He tells Oliver that there’s a chance to save his mother…and the world. Along the way, Oliver meets loyal friends, explores new worlds, and battles a variety of monsters. The story is creative and high-quality, making this one of my favorite games of all time!

Image result for ni no kuni

Currently Playing

We just got a PS4, and one of the first games I bought was Assassin’s Creed: Unity. The only problem is that I’m not all caught up on the series. So I went back and picked up Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag. I started playing a long time ago, but quickly lost interest. Naval Combat is not my thing, the storyline did nothing for me, and being a pirate? Not as fun as it sounds. But I need to finish, so I picked it back up. And then I fell in love. I don’t know when I’ll be finished, but for now, it’s the perfect game for me. Pirates? Totally as fun as it sounds! All it takes is a different mood and mindset.

That’s it for this time. See you next month, folks.

5 Comments

Filed under Read Play Blog

5 responses to “Read Play Blog – Geek Conventions

  1. Oh wow, No Ni Kuni sounds so adorable! I love the graphics and the sound of the story! I love board games as well and Lexicon sounds like it’d be a lot of fun. Glad to hear you enjoyed Black Flag, I picked that one up recently as well.

    Like

    • Ni No Kuni was a sleeper hit I think. It had the great storytelling of Level 5 and the awe-inspiring art of Studio Ghibli, but I loved that it was off the wall and just so fun!

      What are some of your favorite board games?

      Like

  2. I have all the AC games prior to black flag but I can’t bring myself to pick up the series after how badly ubisoft and AC has been in the media lately. One day I’m sure I’ll start the series though.

    Like

  3. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee's Reading Journal

Leave a Reply

