Reviews – Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic

Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic (Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency, #4)

 Title: Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic  (Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency #4)

 Author: Iain Reading

 2014 – YA – Mystery

 Rating: 4.5/5

 Source: Book Publicity Services

The Story: Kitty Hawk continues her flight around the world, stopping in various locales to sightsee and explore. In this installment, she touches down in Ireland. As part of her agreement with Wasabi Willy’s, the sushi chain is funding her flight in exchange for her publicity. At a grand opening in Ireland, Kitty is approached by a young man who wants to hire her to help him solve a mystery dating back to the Titanic. As they search for a long-forgotten treasure, Kitty and Andrew take a Jack the Ripper walking tour in London, learn about the history of Egyptian hieroglyphs, and have several frightening encounters with Thomas Ismay, the grandson of White Star Line chairman J. Bruce Ismay.

The Opening Line: I found myself surrounded by an all-consuming blackness so thick that it felt as though I could touch it.

Thoughts: I can’t believe how consistently good this series is – and diverse! I love books where the main character travels, which is exactly the premise of this series. Each book sees Kitty in a new location, and her thirst for knowledge concerning that location is one of the things I love most. I’m learning things about the world that I would never have known had I not read this series.

In my review of the 3rd Kitty Hawk book, I wrote that I loved that the series isn’t like other YA series, that I enjoyed seeing a series without a focus on romance. In this installment, Kitty meets Andrew when he wants to hire her to help him solve the mystery. They flirt, go out, and even kiss at one point. And it’s sweet. But what I love is that the romantic aspect doesn’t take away from the rest of the plot. The rest of the book doesn’t become the Kitty and Andrew story. It’s still about Kitty exploring London and Ireland, learning the history and culture, making new friends, and solving the mystery. Andrew is a great friend and an added bonus as a romantic interest.

Maybe my favorite thing about this novel is its setting. England and Ireland both have long histories, rich cultures, and fascinating people, and these two countries in particular form the settings of some of my favorite books. I love that I got to read and learn about a fascinating Irish natural landmark, the most notorious serial killer in London’s history, and Egyptian writing all in one novel. And it never felt crammed in – it all flowed perfectly within the plot!

I have the 5th book sitting at home on my shelf (thanks to Book Publicity Services and Iain Reading!), and I can’t wait to dive in! I’m trying my best to get through other things and clear out other obligations, because reading a Kitty Hawk book is quickly becoming one of my favorite things to do!

1 Comment

Filed under Reviews

One response to “Reviews – Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee's Reading Journal

Leave a Reply

