R.I.P. X Is Finally Here!

rip10300

Artwork courtesy of Abigail Larson!

Yay! It’s Halloween season again! Each year around this time, I have a mental shift toward all things spooky and macabre. It may just be me, but it seems like there’s a tangible shift in the atmosphere as days begin to shorten, the air gets cooler, and the wind whips fallen leaves into a frenzy. It’s the perfect time of year to indulge in a scary novel, spine-tingling short story, or campy horror film while drinking a cup of tea or cocoa and snuggling deeper into a blanket.

Fall is my favorite season, Halloween is my favorite holiday, and the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril (R.I.P.) challenge is my favorite reading event of the year. Running from September 1 to October 31, the whole goal of the challenge is to read creepy, spooky, scary, macabre, mysterious things. This year, for the challenge’s tenth annivesary, the lovely ladies of The Estella Society are hosting the challenge. Like previous years, there are multiple levels of participation and all reviews can be posted to the R.I.P. X Review Site to share with others!

I have a ton of thematic stuff that would work perfectly for the challenge (and I’ll definitely read a ton!), but there are some very specific things that I’m going to focus on this year. I saved a couple of ARCS and an audiobook I won in a giveaway especially for this challenge, my next roomie reading challenge book fits well, and I have some books checked out or on hold at the library that I’ll read. Here’s my actual list.

ripnineperilfirst

  • The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall – This was on the new books shelf at the library the other day, and I couldn’t resist picking it up. Can’t wait to dive in, as this one has been on my list for a while now.
  • The Library at Mount Char – I have an ARC of this that I haven’t had time to read until now. Which is actually perfect, because my anticipation has been steadily building for this one.
  • The Witches: Salem, 1692 – I loved Stacy Schiff’s Cleopatra: A Life, so I can only imagine that I’ll love this even more, as this subject matter is way more up my alley.
  • The Boxcar Children Ghost-Hunting Special – The Boxcar Children books were a formative part of my childhood, and I still read them today. I love that they are still releasing new adventures, and I’m excited to read this new compilation of 3 of the spookier novels.
  • The Winter People – This one will be my audio companion on commutes. I don’t know too much about it, but I won it in a giveaway and I’ve been saving it specifically for this!

ripnineperilshort

  • Tales – This is a collection of short stories by the master of horror, H.P. Lovecraft. Katie and I are doing a roomie reading challenge this month, and what better way to usher in Halloween season than with some Cthulhu?
  • Ghostly: A Collection of Ghost Stories – This is a new collection curated and edited by Audrey Niffenegger and chock full of some of the greatest ghost stories of all time. Perfect for dipping in and out when it’s hard to concentrate on something longer.
  • Halloween: Magic, Mystery, and the Macabre – This anthology of original stories just looks really intriguing. I don’t recognize most of the authors, so I feel like I’m in for a treat!

ripnineperilscreen

  • Hotel Transylvania/Hotel Transylvania 2 – Okay, these are animated and more kooky than scary, but still favorites in my household.
  • The Nightmare Before Christmas – This is a classic and no year would be complete without a viewing (or 10) of it.
  • Hocus Pocus – Same with this one, we watch it annually and usually just keep it on repeat during the Halloween season.
  • Various horror films – As part of our movie project, we are trying to watch great films that we’ve somehow missed. We don’t watch much horror, so we’ve missed a ton in this area. I’m not exactly sure what we’ll be brave enough to try, but you can be sure that my Twitter account will most likely be hilarious during this time.

ripnineperilgroup

  • The Quick – I’ve wanted to read this for a while now, but thank goodness I didn’t. I love group reads and I can’t wait to see what everyone thinks of the book!

 

And that’s it! I’m super excited and can’t wait to get started. I’ve been trying to clear out my stacks so I can concentrate fully on the awesomeness that is this challenge, and I’ve almost succeeded! I should be reading my R.I.P. X picks in no time! Any of you participating this year?

7 Comments

Filed under Read-Alongs, Reading Challenges

7 responses to “R.I.P. X Is Finally Here!

  1. First, you’re a great writer. Second, I want to do the roommate reading challenge with you guys (if I can find a copy at my library). Third, I think you guys should watch Cabin in the woods, but I want to be there when you watch it. šŸ™‚ (Unless I already made you guys watch that one. What about Sweeney Todd, the original Broadway production?)

    Like

    • Thanks. If you want, I can get you the ISBN to make sure we’re reading the same edition. We haven’t watched Cabin in the Woods, and I also don’t think we’ve seen the Broadway version of Sweeney Todd. Do you think you’ll be around for whenever we do our Halloween party? We could watch then!

      Like

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee's Reading Journal

  3. I finally finished my first book for this event! Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman šŸ™‚ I’m also excited to read Witches after reading Schiff’s Cleopatra!

    Like

Leave a Reply

