It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

2a

It’s Monday! is a weekly meme originally hosted over at Book Journey that allows bloggers to post a sort of wrap-up of the past week while also looking to the week ahead. Without further ado…

Last Week: My grandma and sister turned up for an unexpected visit in the middle of last week. I don’t think I’ve said this before, but my sister is going to be moving in with us later this month. So she’s been coming up fairly frequently to take care of things like signing the lease, filling out paperwork, getting her parking permit, and other various things. I cherish the time with my grandma, but I was thankful that the visit was mid-week and not over the weekend. Speaking of the weekend, we had some friends over for a game night. The more I play games, the more I am obsessed with games. It was a really fun evening and I’m so excited to know other people who share my passions.

It was another week for comic books – they’re just so easy to read and digest. I’m loving Alex + Ada right now, and I can’t wait to see how the story plays out in volume 3. I’m also loving the new Ms. Marvel arc – I’m not really a Marvel fan, but Kamala is winning me over with each issue!

Posts:

Star Wars by Jeffrey Brown Wonder Woman Vol. 6 by Brian Azzarello Alex + Ada, Vol. 1 by Jonathan Luna Alex + Ada, Vol. 2 by Jonathan Luna

Sex Criminals, Vol. 2 by Matt Fraction Ms. Marvel, Vol. 3 by G. Willow Wilson The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin the dragon of the month club by Iain Reading

Currently Reading:

  • The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History – Elizabeth Kolbert
  • Tales – H.P. Lovecraft
  • The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss – Max Wirestone
  • The Uninvited – Cat Winters

The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History Tales The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss The Uninvited

Looking Ahead: Today is Labor Day and my day thus far has yielded an unexpected invite to play games at a local game store, a movie with friends, time to play video games, and a delicious lunch. Although the day is almost over, I’m going to try to sneak in some reading time before bed. The rest of this week will be devoted to finishing the four books I have started, but if I get through any of them, I do have some fantastic titles lined up.

The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall Halloween: Magic, Mystery, and the Macabre The Haunting of Sunshine Girl

Yay for autumn and R.I.P. X books! What are you all reading this week? Are you holding onto summer with light reads or have you moved on to spooky, spine-tingling chillers?

4 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! What are You Reading?

4 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. What games have you been playing lately? I’m the same way, the more I play something the more I feel like I need to play as much as possible. I really need to get back into Ms. Marvel, I only read the first 3 issues but loved them.

    Like

    • In video games, I just finished Assassin’s Creed IV and I am almost through The Order of the Phoenix for PS2. In board games, we’ve recently played Machi Koro, Batman Fluxx, Dominion, Tanto Cuore, and others that I’m not thinking of. It’s a good life.

      I’ve read the first 3 volumes of Ms. Marvel. I hate waiting for the trades, but it’s so worth it once I actually get ahold of them.

      Like

      • I still need to finish AC IV, I just recently got it when it was free on the Xbox 360 but then Elder Scrolls Online came out and I sort of forgot about it. I’ve always wanted to try out Machi and Fluxx, they seem like a lot of fun.

        Like

        • Machi Koro wasn’t my favorite – it was a bit like a combination of Dominion and Monopoly. Dominion I love, Monopoly I don’t because it makes me irrationally angry. That’s probably the only reason why I didn’t love Machi. My roommates liked it pretty well. Fluxx is one of my favorite games, and they have a ton of themed versions to swap things up! Just played Monster Fluxx yesterday, and Batman Fluxx is really fun too!

          Like

Leave a Reply

