Dog Days of Summer Readathon

This weekend is the Dog Days of Summer Readathon, hosted over at The Estella Society. The goal of the readathon is to provide a very relaxed, loose structure for a weekend of of pressure free reading. That’s right, pressure free reading!

Whenever I read these days, it’s usually to fulfill some end goal. Not that I don’t get intrinsic pleasure from reading the book itself, I’m just saying that the book usually counts toward a reading challenge, review for a publisher, or even seasonal reading. And yes, I realize the irony in signing up for a readathon that my books will fall into.

Still, I can’t wait to just sit and read this weekend. I don’t have to work, I have no prior obligations that I’m aware of (other than the weekly occurrences of church and life group), and as of right now, I don’t particularly feel motivated to play games or be artsy or do productive things. I also have the motivation of a full-to-bursting library shelf, with several books getting dangerously close to their return dates. This readathon is perfect for me!

I’m not sure exactly what I’ll be trying for, but here are a few of the things that I’m considering for the weekend.

Stuff Brits Like: A Guide to What's Great About Great Britain Maplecroft (The Borden Dispatches #1) Chapelwood (The Borden Dispatches, #2)

Ghost-Hunting Special The Batman Adventures: Mad Love

All of these are pretty wildly different, but I’m super excited to dive in and start working through my reading list!

5 Comments

Filed under Reading Challenges

5 responses to “Dog Days of Summer Readathon

  1. It’s a tough line between the accomplishment of finishing a challenge and feeling like you can just pick up any book! I hope you have a great Readathon. This weekend didn’t work out for me, but I can’t wait to see how everyone else does!

    Like

  2. Good luck! I think it’s good you’ve got a mix of different kinds of books to read. What are you going to start with?

    Like

  3. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee's Reading Journal

Leave a Reply

