Read Play Blog – Surprised by a Game

Read Play Blog 2

Read Play Blog is a meme about video games and books, posted every 16th of the month. Bloggers are encouraged to answer a discussion question, and recommend a video game that is similar to a book they liked. Hosted by Happy Indulgence Books & Read Me Away.

I’m apparently very bad at keeping track of time, so my historical rate of doing these posts is every other month. I’ll try harder to remember from now on, I promise!

Anyway, this month’s topic is:

Is there a video game that surprised you when you played it, whether in a good or bad way?

My Sims Kingdom

I don’t remember how we ended up with a copy of My Sims Kingdom for the Wii, but I wasn’t optimistic. I had never played The Sims to begin with, plus the whole concept of the game just seemed off. Basically, you have to travel around and complete different objectives in different areas to make the citizens happy. I remember in one area, I had to connect some pipes so water would be directed to some tomato plants. In another, I had to build a shop with certain specifications. It just didn’t sound fun at first, but then my roommate played it and it looked AMAZING! So of course I had to play it, then my other roommate played it, and we all got hooked. Another game in the series, My Sims Agents, is also really fun and worth a go!

Batman: Arkham Asylum

I’ve never been a huge fan of superheroes, so I resisted buying Arkham Asylum for as long as possible. I didn’t understand what all the rave reviews were about, and I definitely didn’t understand why people kept saying this game was different. All I knew was that you played as Batman and tried to round up villains. Like any superhero story, right? Wrong. Arkham Asylum is so much more. Fluid combat, the creepy and limited setting of Arkham Asylum, and some mind tripping story sequences got me hooked quickly. I loved the game so much that I didn’t even mind when my save file got corrupted and I had to start over. It’s the game that made me Batman obsessed. The rest of the games haven’t lived up to my high expectations, but Asylum is definitely one of my favorite games of all time.

Image result for arkham asylum game scarecrow

Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning

I love RPGs, and this was described to me as a mixture of Fable and Skyrim. More open than Fable, smaller than Skyrim, with some interesting mechanics. When I first started playing, I was dubious. The game started off on a very generic tone, and I was afraid that it would continue throughout the game. But I kept playing and my mind was blown. Kingdoms is gorgeous and I had a badass sword that rendered me unstoppable. With plenty of quests, diverse areas, and an interesting level mechanic, I played this game obsessively until I finished. I was super sad when the company shut down. Looks like no sequels for me. 😦

Image result for kingdoms of amalur

Currently Playing

I’m almost ashamed to admit this, but I’m currently playing Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix for PS2. I recently finished up Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag, and I just needed something light and quick to play between bigger games, OK? And the thing is, HP 1 on the original PlayStation was an amazing game. 2 and 3 were okay, 4 was atrocious. Order of the Phoenix is a fetch quest from hell. The meat of the game lies in getting all members of the DA to the Room of Requirement. Typically, each student needs you to complete a task (or 3) before they’ll go. And there are 28 members. The major events from the book are little more than cutscenes, and the mechanics are clunky and slow. Graphics are terrible also, which I guess is understandable since by then the PS3 was already out, so why waste time and money making a good game for an old system, right? Still, I’m glad this is short, so I can move on to something else.

Image result for order of the phoenix ps2

I’m hoping to start something new over the weekend, but I’m stuck. Do I start Bioshock 2? Replay Kingdom Hearts 1? Finish Arkham Knight? Help, I don’t know what to do!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Read Play Blog

One response to “Read Play Blog – Surprised by a Game

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee's Reading Journal

Leave a Reply

