It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

2a

It’s Monday! is a weekly meme hosted over at Book Journey that allows bloggers to post a sort of wrap-up of the past week while also looking to the week ahead. Without further ado…

Last Week: We got my sister moved in on Saturday without too much fuss. The process went quickly, and she’s settled in nicely for now. I’m still a little nervous – you know, new person to adapt to, a little dog that will have to get used to our cat, new routines. But so far, so good.

I’m steadily making progress through Lovecraft’s Tales as part of a roomie reading challenge with Katie – the stories are a bit dense and we haven’t had much time to dedicate to the challenge, but we’ll get there eventually. Same with The Winter People – I’m listening on my extremely short commutes, so it’s taking a while. So it’s a relief to have other shorter, lighter reads that I can zoom through as my “regular” reading.

Posts:

Maplecroft by Cherie Priest The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie

Currently Reading:

  • Tales – H.P. Lovecraft
  • The Winter People – Jennifer McMahon (audio)
  • The WikiLeaks Files: The World According to US Empire – Julian Assange

Tales The Winter People The WikiLeaks Files: The World According to US Empire

Looking Ahead: More of the same. Work. Game night. Reading. Catching up on reality TV. Getting in the Halloween spirit with movies and decorating. Maybe some naps or early nights, if this exhaustion keeps me feeling the way I feel right now.

Ghostlight Straight to Hell: True Tales of Deviance, Debauchery, and Billion-Dollar Deals The Indifferent Stars Above: The Harrowing Saga of a Donner Party Bride

 

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Love the cover on Ghostlight.

    I hope that book and all of your books are good reads.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

    Like

  2. Enjoy the books! I just finished The Custom of the Country (I hated the main character, but I’m so glad I read the book). I’m not sure what I will read next. We’re getting into the Halloween spirit in my household too. My kids are so excited about it!

    Like

  3. Thank goodness for naps. Sometimes you just hit a stretch of exhaustion.

    The Indifferent Stars Above is supposed to be so good. I hope you enjoy it!

    Like

  4. What do you think of the Julian Assange book? I feel like I don’t know enough about him.

    Like

    • Turns out that it’s more of an anthology. Each chapter looks at a different part of the world or a different topic and for the most part, has a different author. I’m guessing he just pulled it all together. It seems very well researched, and I’m inclined to trust the research. At least in one chapter, they mentioned that WikiLeaks DIDN”T publish something because they couldn’t fact-check it thoroughly. And there are tons of footnotes with links to the original sources. I’m enjoying it and learning a lot – it’s a bit slow going, but worth it. I’m not the most patriotic anyway, but the topics in the book just make me feel appalled.

      Like

      • Even though I’m sure the topics are quite controversial, the book sounds fascinating. Jonathan Franzen’s latest novel features an organization that leaks secrets and that got me curious about Julian Assange and Wikileaks. I’m terrible at paying attention to these things.

        Like

Leave a Reply

