It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

2a

It’s Monday! is a weekly meme hosted over at Book Journey that allows bloggers to post a sort of wrap-up of the past week while also looking to the week ahead. Without further ado…

Last Week: On Thursday evening, Taylor Davis played a show at 3rd and Lindsley in Nashville, TN. She is a classically trained violinist who plays a mix of original compositions and covers of themes from video games, movies, and anime. I’ve followed her YouTube channel for a while now, so when tickets for her first tour went on sale way back in June, I knew I had to be there. Nashville is about 3.5 hours away from Lexington, so I booked a hotel room for the night and dragged the roomies with me for a weekend away. The show was fantastic and she even did a meet and greet at the end! We also stopped by Parnassus Books, where we met Ann Patchett, who graciously personalized a copy of Bel Canto for me! Then on Friday we headed to Chattanooga, where Katie’s grandparents live, and did touristy things including Rock City, Tennessee Aquarium, and the Chattanooga Market. It was a fantastic mini vacation!

I always think that I’m going to be one of those people who plows through several books on vacation, but the reality is that I typically don’t really read much on vacation at all. I’m in a new city, taking in new sights, and experiencing new things. So why do something that I do at home all the time anyway? I maybe read a couple of chapters when we had some downtime, but either we were busy doing something or I was so exhausted that I was going straight to bed.

Posts:

 

Currently Reading:

  • The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America – Erik Larson
  • The Quick – Lauren Owen

The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America The Quick

Looking Ahead: It’s back to the grind for me, but at least I have some fantastic reads to look forward to. My list at this point is mostly Halloween reads, but there are also some recently released sequels to ongoing series that I can’t wait to read. There are a couple of books that I own that are on my R.I.P. X list and a couple of books that I borrowed from a friend that I should really try to read soon. So many books, but so many fantastic books!

Halloween: Magic, Mystery, and the Macabre The Poe Estate (The Grimm Legacy, #3) Gotham Academy, Vol. 1: Welcome to Gotham Academy Batman: Eternal, Vol. 1

I’m trying to steel myself to go back to work tomorrow, but it’s going to be super hard after such an amazing weekend! What about you?

 

2 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! What are You Reading?

2 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. You. met. Ann. Patchett. How cool!!! Was Parnassus gorgeous??

    Like

    • So actually Parnassus is in this little ordinary strip mall, next to something like a Sherwin Williams paint store or something. But when you go in, it’s just really amazing. Tons of signed copies, plenty of helpful staff, store events, and they have some shop dogs that customers can pet. It’s definitely one of my favorite bookstores!

      Like

Leave a Reply

