It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! is a weekly meme now hosted over at Book Date that allows bloggers to post a sort of wrap-up of the past week while also looking to the week ahead. Without further ado…

Last Week: Last week turned out to be pretty packed with fun events and evenings out. It all started on Monday, when we went out for dinner at The Pub, a British-inspired chain serving up classics like shepherd’s pie and fish and chips. We enjoyed our food, but the night’s highlight was the trivia. I learned that I need to brush up on my history, as well as music from the 80s. Tuesday night was game night, as usual. Friday night brought our second book club meeting. We gathered at Panera Bread to talk Stephen King’s 11/22/63 and then chose Adriana Trigiani’s Big Stone Gap as our next read. Luckily, after all the excitement, the weekend was pretty laid back, with plenty of gaming, food, and of course, reading!

As well as finishing our book club read last week, I also dug into some comics and started Nonfiction November off pretty well. My goal for the month is to read at least one nonfiction read a week – last week I read two! So the month is starting off well in general. Let’s hope I can keep it up!

Posts:

Currently Reading:

  • House of Leaves – Mark Z. Danielewski (Yes, still!)
  • Rain: A Natural and Cultural History – Cynthia Barnett

House of Leaves Rain: A Natural and Cultural History

Looking Ahead: My library stack is finally looking pretty manageable, so I dare say I’ll be leaning in other directions this week. Hopefully, I can start making headway on my growing stack of borrowed books and ARCs. I don’t mean for this to happen, I swear I don’t.

The Hollow Boy (Lockwood & Co. #3) The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #2) The Retribution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #3)

Anyway, here’s to a week full of happiness to all of you!

8 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! What are You Reading?

8 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Looks like a wonderful week.

    Rain looks interesting. House of Leaves does too. I hope you are enjoying the books.

    Here’s to a week full of happiness being sent to you too.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

    Like

  2. Sounds like you enjoyed some lovely pub grub… Being British myself its probably no surprise those kinds of meals are my kind of comfort foods.

    How did you enjoy 11/22/63? That was actually my first Stephen King book – an odd to choice to begin with considering his more known for the darker reads.

    Happy reading!

    Like

    • We loved it! It was delicious and now that I know they host trivia on Mondays, we’ll probably drop in every couple of weeks.

      I really enjoyed 11/22/63. It’s definitely very different for King, but still very, very good.

      Like

  3. Oh it’s so easy for a stack of books to grow, there are just so many good ones out there. I have read Big Stone Gap and did enjoy it so hope you do too. Great to have a book club to discuss it with.

    Like

  4. What a cool week you had. You certainly know how to have fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

