It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! is a weekly meme now hosted over at Book Date that allows bloggers to post a sort of wrap-up of the past week while also looking to the week ahead. Without further ado…

Last Week: I feel like last week consisted of a lot of nights in and early bedtimes. We were all kind of sniffly due to the frequently changing weather, so it was a really low-key week for us. Jerelle spent the weekend dog sitting for her cousin, so Katie and I read, went out for lunch, and took turns gaming, which made for a pretty great Saturday.

I finally finished off House of Leaves. I really recommend if if you’re looking for something different and definitely a lot weird. Finishing felt like the same accomplishment as I felt when I read Infinite Jest. I also finished off Rain – it took longer than expected. I finished out the week by speeding through some lighter books, though none of the novels that I originally planned to read last week.

Posts:

Currently Reading:

  • Lafayette in the Somewhat United States – Sarah Vowell

Lafayette in the Somewhat United States

Looking Ahead: As always, several options. So this week, I think I’m just going to read whatever my heart desires. I have some good books lined up, and I’ll be happy to read any of them. I’m also considering taking a break from blogging during the month of December. It’s always so busy and full of events that I would love as few obligations as possible. What do you all think?

The Hollow Boy (Lockwood & Co. #3) I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #2)

12 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! What are You Reading?

12 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Being Woven

    The November Nonfiction book pairing looks interesting and a good idea. I am checking out some of your pairs. Thanks.
    Your neighbor @ It’s Monday…
    ~ linda

    Like

  2. I really loved House of Leaves, but it is definitely not easy to read! I have the first 2 books in Danielewski’s new series The Familiar waiting to be read and am really looking forward to them.

    Like

  3. Looks like a great reading time and it’s always nice to free oneself up and choose the next read according to what you feel like at the time.

    Like

  4. I am reading the first book in the Lockwood and Co. series and really enjoying it so far. I also borrowed the 2nd and 3rd novels in the series, including Hollow Boy, so I really hope to get to them all before year ends.

    Like

  5. I hope it’s been a great week for you so far! Have you decided whether to take a break next month? I’ve considered taking a break from my blog too. Instead–for now–I’m just going to post less often (waiting until the mood strikes me instead of forcing myself to write something at least once a week).

    Like

  6. I hear the Lafayette is really fun. I hope you are enjoying!!

    I can certainly understand wanting a break in December. I tend to take a week or two off around Christmas/New Year’s.

    Like

    • The Lafayette book is amazing! I just finished it and am on to Malala!
      I think I need to generally unplug a little bit and get some perspective. Enjoy the things close to me. Spend time with friends and family.

      Like

Leave a Reply

