Nonfiction November – I Am Malala Discussion

Nonfiction November 2015

I’m super excited to be participating in Nonfiction November again this year. Last year, I read some great books that I would have otherwise never picked up, so I’m thankful that this event exists to expand my knowledge base. Week 2 is hosted by Katie over at Doing Dewey, where we are discussing this year’s official read-along book, I am Malala.

What did you think of the tone and style in which I Am Malala was written?

I wasn’t a huge fan, to be honest. You can definitely see Malala’s voice coming through, and it’s definitely the sort of writing one would expect from a teenager. Lots of rambling thoughts and some disjointed paragraphs. Not necessarily bad, just not my style.

What did you think of the political commentary in the book?

I enjoyed the political commentary – I’ve read several things lately that have helped to educate me as to the true nature of American politics. More and more I’m finding myself outraged at how we think we can play God with many of the world’s countries. Setting up regimes that depend on us, maneuvering trade deals that are favorable towards us, interfering in other countries against the will of their populations. I think it is despicable when political motivations take precedence over human rights and dignities.

Did anything particularly surprise you about Malala’s daily life or culture?

I was a little bit astonished at how they lack some of what we would call the basic necessities of life in some cases (running water, electricity), but have access to thoroughly modern and American products. It’s an interesting juxtaposition.

Do you think you would act similarly to Malala in her situation? If you were her parents, would you let her continue to be an activist despite possible danger?

I hope I would make a similar stand. And as a parent, I’m not sure. I hope that I would be willing to make those sacrifices and teach those lessons, but at the same time, I would be worried about the very real dangers.

What did you think of the book overall?

It wasn’t my favorite book ever, but I believe that it is undeniably important. I believe that stories like this one must be told. We all have a story and we all have a role to play – building each other up and getting behind worth causes is a great way to change the world! So in that aspect, this book is very appealing and very important.

 

6 Comments

Filed under Doing Dewey's Nonfiction Book Club, Reading Challenges

6 responses to “Nonfiction November – I Am Malala Discussion

  1. Jancee, I like your take on the political commentary; you also bring up a great point about what they have access to versus what they do not. I hadn’t thought about that aspect of it but it does seem very interesting, now that you’ve mentioned it! I agree that it wasn’t a thrilling read (I listened via audiobook), but I’m glad that I did. I enjoy learning more about different cultures, hearing different perspectives and this one is especially unique. Hope you have a great Thanksgiving!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Nonfiction November: Read-along Discussion Wrap-up - Doing DeweyDoing Dewey

  3. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Jancee's Reading Journal

  4. As I said in my summary, I think you do a great job of tactfully describing the teenage writing style. I get why that’s the way it’s written – she’s a teenager – but that doesn’t mean I have to like it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

