It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! is a weekly meme now hosted over at Book Date that allows bloggers to post a sort of wrap-up of the past week while also looking to the week ahead. Without further ado…

Last Two Weeks: It’s been a while since I last checked in! As the holidays approach, life is getting busier and busier. Most recently, I celebrated the Thanksgiving holiday with my family and friends. We had a small roommate dinner earlier in the week, then we each went our separate ways to be with our families. My family dinner was surprisingly low-key and not dramatic at all. I don’t go Black Friday shopping, so I spent the day watching Hallmark movies with my grandma. Why are those darn movies so addictive and heart-warming?? After coming back to Lexington, I mostly just sat around and read.

With things slowing down a bit for the break, I’ve had a lot of great reading time. I’ve been cranking through books at a faster pace than normal; I’ve marked quite a few off my “series in progress” list in addition to finishing a couple of books I had borrowed. And I only have 2 books out from the library. Quite an improvement, if I do say so myself! Here’s what I’ve gotten through in the last two weeks.

Posts:

   

  

  

Currently Reading:

  • Soul Screamers, Volume 1 – Rachel Vincent

Soul Screamers Vol. 1: My Soul to Lose • My Soul to Take • My Soul to Save

Looking Ahead: I’ve officially decided to take a blogging break during the month of December. Yes, the entire month. I’ve been finding myself in a strange mood lately, where my motivation is at an absolute zero. I would rather be reading or gaming or hanging with friends than blogging or working or taking care of adult responsibilities. So I’m giving myself a break. A break to read whatever I want, do whatever I want, let go of obligations. I’ll still plan my reading to a degree, because that’s just an intrinsic part of me, but I don’t want to read anything because I “have to”. Does that make sense? I’ll still follow along with you all and keep up with your blogs, but I just need a break from my own.

That being said, during my break I really just want to catch up on some series I’ve been trying to get through for a while. Other than that, who knows? Here are just a few things I’m looking forward to during December.

Mortal Heart (His Fair Assassin, #3) The Witches: Salem, 1692 The Library at Mount Char

Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End Thirteen Guests: A British Library Crime Classic The Z Murders: A British Library Crime Classic

The First Discworld Novels the Colour of Magic and the Light Fantastic The Amber Spyglass (His Dark Materials, #3) Blameless (Parasol Protectorate, #3)

13 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! What are You Reading?

13 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Enjoy your break! It looks like you have great books lined up. Gawande’s Being Mortal is eye-opening. I highly recommend it.

    Like

  2. Kathy Martin

    Enjoy your blogging break. I hope you manage to do all the reading you have planned. Here is my Monday Report. Happy reading!

    Like

  3. I hope you enjoy your blogging break too! I have been having an unofficial break as well. I wish I was reading more, but I think it’s a good idea to come back fresh for the new year.

    Like

  4. Enjoy your break, good idea to just relax and please yourself as to what and when you read with no thought of blogging them. Yeah – yay for Hallmark movies and nice to watch them with your grandma.

    Like

  5. That looks like a great bunch of books. I have Being Mortal and The Witches on my tbr list.

    I hope your time off is relaxing!!

    Like

  6. Your Thanksgiving sounds wonderful. That’s the way to do it. And I think it’s lovely how you and your roomies had your own mini dinner too. Good for you on taking a break. Sometimes one needs it to refresh and enjoy other things. Have a great one.

    Like

  7. Nice blog. Hope you are back soon from your break 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

