It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! is a weekly meme now hosted over at Book Date that allows bloggers to post a sort of wrap-up of the past week while also looking to the week ahead. Without further ado…

Last Week: I should not be at work right now. I should be home adventuring, questing through Ferelden. Romancing Alistair. Interfering in dwarven politics. Making crucial, heartrending choices. Gathering armies to defeat the Darkspawn and the Archdemon. Instead, I’m sitting here at my desk nursing a headache and wondering if lunchtime will ever come. I’ve loved all the time off, especially all the time I’ve spent playing Dragon Age: Origins (see above!). Other people are glad to be back at work, but I’ve never really suffered from cabin fever, so I’m wishing it was still last week.

When I wasn’t adventuring, I was reading, of course. Katie and I are reading through the Time Quintet together. A Wrinkle in Time is one of my favorite books, I read it over and over and over as a kid. It’s still a go-to comfort book. But for some reason, I’ve never read the other four books. So I’m making up for that now.

Posts:

Currently Reading:

  • A Wind in the Door (Time Quintet #2) – Madeleine L’Engle
  • The Grilling Season (Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery #7) – Diane Mott Davidson
  • The Essential Bernie Sanders – Jonathan Tasini

A Wind in the Door (A Wrinkle in Time Quintet, #2) The Grilling Season (A Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery, #7) The Essential Bernie Sanders and His Vision for America

Looking Ahead: As I mentioned in my previous post, after my break in December, I almost decided not to come back to this space. As of now, it’s still up in the air. Like I said before, I love reading and I love writing – this is a great space for that. But sometimes it feels too saturated, like I’m not saying anything new, original, or unique. And I’m not quite sure how to do that. Any thoughts from you all – something you’d like to see more or less or? Something I should address? I’m going to continue here at least for a while, but I’m not sure what’s next.

I do know that my break was reinvigorating and just straight-up fun. I haven’t had a chance in a while to just read what I want or to choose not to read. So my goal for the year is to cut back on all the silly obligations I’m making up for myself. Cut back on challenges, from read-alongs, from reviews for publishers. Play more games, watch more movies, hang out with friends. Life is short, so I’m going to read what I want.

A Swiftly Tilting Planet (A Wrinkle in Time Quintet, #3) Many Waters (Time Quintet, #4) An Acceptable Time (A Wrinkle in Time Quintet, #5) A Clash of Kings  (A Song of Ice and Fire, #2)

14 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! What are You Reading?

14 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. you know, your sick time just reset, so you could have stayed home and adventured…

    Like

  2. I love the Time Quintet!! I hope you will write a post on reading the rest of the books for the first time. 🙂

    Like

  3. Sounds like a fun thing to do as you read together.

    My son and I read the same books, but not together. I am usually first and then he follows. 🙂

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

    Like

    • We have two copies of the series, so we are reading through at the same time. Makes it fun to talk about what we like and dislike without having to wait for the other to eventually read it.

      Like

  4. Kathy Martin

    I like your resolutions which amount to making reading less of a job and more of a hobby. That’s my goal too and the reason I don’t do challenges. Now if I could just stop requesting review books… Here is what I read last week. Happy reading!

    Like

  5. ejmam

    Wrinkle in Time is clearly the best, but I read them all. I remember the last two as being weird, but I haven’t reread them for decades. I hope you enjoy them.

    Like

  6. Happy to have you back and I hear ya! Taking a break really gave me some perspective too and I decided to just focus on reading this year. I joined a few challenges, but I’m not planning to accept many (or any?) review copies or get hung up on reviewing every single book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

